We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome - no complaints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf View II

Gulf View II
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf View II
1700 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
st louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome - no complaints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I just returned from a stay in the studio 301 rented by Peg's Padre in Gulfview II. It was a great experience. It was the first vacation I've taken as an "adult" so I wanted it to be perfect - the owners of these rentals were SO helpful. They were quick to answer every question I had (and I had lots) and give recommendations, even showed up in person to help when we couldn't find the beach due to some construction! Very high level of personal service.

Room was very cute, clean and comfortable. The room is stocked with very useful stuff - full set dishes/glasses, nice cooler, beach chairs and toys. We flew in so having these things in the room saved us a lot of money and hassle! They had plenty of chairs on the balcony which overlooks Schlitterbahn waterpark, we spent a lot of time out there. It felt much more homey and comfortable than a chain hotel w/no kitchen would have. Bed was firm but actually really comfortable, especially the sheets/bedclothes, they were very soft. Shower was great too.

The pool at the Gulfview is absolutely wonderful as well, much bigger than I expected from the pictures, very clean and nice surrounding area. The whole place was just nice. Walk to the beach is short, easy, and paved. Building is very easy to find coming from the bridge, and is very near some good spots like Gabriella's and Dirty Al's.

I would definitely recommending renting from the people at Peg's Padre. If I return to SPI I will definitely rent with them again! I really can't find anything to complain about. The only bummer was the road this building is off of tended to flash flood a bit during the rain, but if you are able to wait it out the water did tend to go down, but if you have a truck or SUV it'd be better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the Gulfview II, Room 110, and booked through VRBO at http://www.vrbo.com/93516, but the owner has her own website as well at www.pegspadregetaway.com/ The condo was well maintained and the kitchen/bar area was a bit roomier than the pictures indicate on the website. The location is a very short walk to the beach. We also appreciated the extra beach supplies in the room. They provide two beach chairs, a tarp, beach umbrella, boogie boards and assorted sand toys plus a cart. The owner was very accessible and ready to answer any questions we had about the unit. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed in Room 111 at Gulfview II. The place was clean with everything we needed. It is close to the water park, fishing, and snorkeling. It is not on the beach, but it is not a far walk. We stayed with the two kids; they loved the pool. I loved the security at the pool 100% of the time. He kept out everyone that was not supposed to be there. I would recommend it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband, my two kids ages 7 & 11, and I stayed at these condos Memorial Day Weekend. We stayed in condo 112 and it was absolutely wonderful. It was a one bedroom condo only a short walking distance from the beach. It had all the ammenties including full size fridge, stove and all the supplies needed for cooking. It had queen size bed in the bedroom and also a fullsize futon in the living room. There was also a rollaway bed in the closet. Also, the condo was equipped with beach necessities such as chairs, umbrellas, buckets for the kids, and several items. It was fully equipped with more than enough towels. The condo was just te right size for a family of four and was in pristine condition and very clean. I found browsing the internet and the actual email address is pegspadregetaway.com. The owner, Lisa, was more than accommodating with changing my length of stay and she sent me an email with all the information about the surrounding area. I highly reccommend this condo! We enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alytex06
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My husband and I just got back from a 4 day stay in SPI. We stayed at the Gulfview II, in a condo we found on www.vrbo.com. It was listing #46509, under Peg's Place. We had a studio rental and it was awesome !!! It was very cute, cozy and right by the beach. Beach chairs/cart were provided ... the only thing missing were the umbrella & cabana that were listed on the website. This was our second visit to SPI, the last time we stayed at the Holiday Inn. For the price and location you can't beat this condo. We would definitely stay there again !!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Enjoyed our stay in SPI. The Gulf View II Condo was nice - a relatively easy walk to the beach, clean and affordable. We had a 1 bedroom with a balcony over looking the pool. Living room had a pull out couch which was great for our 4 year old. Used the kitchenette throughout our trip, which was very convienent. Would stay there again.

  • Disliked — No view of water
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulf View II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View II

Address: 1700 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in South Padre Island
Also Known As:
Gulf View Ii Hotel South Padre Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf View II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gulf View II to your Saves list