We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SS Yongala Dive Site

SS Yongala Dive Site
Cape Bowling Green | Ayr (via), Alva Beach, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Alva Beach
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go for it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Even if Alva beach is not the closest door, the road to teach this city is quickly forget when you jump in the water of this amazing submarine réserve. A Must do if you re a serious diver.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Not just the best dive in my life, one of the best experiences I lived: An incredibly scenic shipwreck form the age of the Titanic, and full of sea life: bull sharks, manta rays, sea snakes, giant Queensland groupers and thousands of pelagic fish. All fish interacts with you. Just amazing!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Although the sea was a bit rough and the visibility a bit low due to the after effects if the cyclone, the dive was great. So many fish, sting rays and interesting points on the wreck. The staff were awesome too - nothing was too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'd considered doing this dive for a while but was dubious because of the cost. I'm glad I did. The accommodation is beautiful and very handy in it's location. One of the guys collected me from near my accommodation and I set myself up in the tv room for the night before my dive.

THe weather had been awful all week and for safety dives had been cancelled and rescheduled. On the day of our try most of the participants, and crew, had terrible sea sickness but this was soaked up by the sarnies and fruit at lunch time onboard our boat.

The dive was incredible and we saw many species including but not limited to octopus, sea snakes, giant trevally and rays. The wreck was very well preserved.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I enjoyed the dive very much. But it is, for good reasons, somewhat restrictive. For me, the best wreck dive is the Liberty, on Bali. Why?because it is broken up and you can go in, out, up, down, all over it, with crystal clear visibility

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SS Yongala Dive Site also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region

Been to SS Yongala Dive Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SS Yongala Dive Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.