We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be Renamed the Harber Hunting Trophy House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harber Wildlife Museum

Harber Wildlife Museum
4703 Texoma Parkway, Sherman, TX 75090
903-771-1134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Sherman
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Should be Renamed the Harber Hunting Trophy House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The animals in the Harber Wildlife Museum are done with masterful taxidermy, and the museum has a nice entrance area. However, there are a few serious problems with the museum. The first problem is that way too much information is given about the sponsors. This fact makes you feel like you are walking through someone's trophy room instead of a museum. And second, some items in the museum reflect poorly on the museum. The main items I am talking about are sculptures made out of elephant ivory tusks in the artifacts room.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“liked it at first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been through this museum several times, always with grandchildren. There are many, many animals, large and small from little beetles to a giant elephant and huge giraffes. The first trip or two I was struck by how many animals there were. Then, one of my grandchildren asked, "Why did they kill all these animals?" and it made me think. These animals were killed by two expert game hunters purely for the sport of it. Such beautiful creatures killed for no other reason than the fun of killing and the show of what the Harbers have done. One of my little granddaughters calls it the "Dead Animal Zoo", so if you're into that sort of thing, I guess it would be enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You will be surprised that this exhibit is in Sherman. Great place to take the kids for an outting. I am told that the animals are changed out from time to time. You will never believe how many are in the museum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding family experience - you gotta go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I thought it would be okay but boy was I in for a surprise! This is not just a few tiny exhibits,kind of put here and there, it is a world class musuem adventure! The taxidermy work is such that you expect to see them move! Expect to be overwhelmed and in awe of the animals, the ambience, and the displays. It was a cool place to spend a hot afternoon and the price was really cheap - $5! Easily could have been double that or more and still worth it! Kids will love it but adults too will find much there to enjoy. Resource room has some very interesting travel slides playing. Can't say it enough...go, be amazed, and definately get your money's worth! Thank you to the Harbers for putting such a gorgeous and educational instution in our area!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lots of cool animals from around the globe. This is definitely a place to visit while in the Sherman area. It is also a great place to take kids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harber Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to Harber Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harber Wildlife Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.