We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good overall...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapeno Tree

Jalapeno Tree
2916 N. Sam Rayburn Freeway, Sherman, TX 75090
903 893 8638
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 120 Restaurants in Sherman
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quite good overall...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Chimichanga and Fajitas were really good. The standard salsa wasn't the best, but it was okay. We ordered the salsa verde instead and it was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great carne asada steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Loved the meat, the cut, the seasoning, the serving...Everything about it was great! The chips and salsa served were delicious and I loved the self-serve, free ice cream cones we got when we left. The restaurant is next to a gas statio and a couple of hotels, off a busy road, but hey...don't judge it until you try it...You'll love it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Food here was good. My fajita steak was very good, enchiladas were good. All sauces were good. Corn tortillas were thick, gooey, and almost no corn taste at all, very bad. Service was average. Atmosphere is good. As for value, the prices were good. Wife and I split a larger plate and were very pleased with the amount of food for the price. If the other issues would have been better, it could easily be 4/5 rating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stopped in to eat lunch here about 12:45, there were only 10-12 people in the restaurant so I thought we would be able to get in and out prettty fast. The selections on the menu were not what I expected for a mexican restaurant. Didn't really have anything to choose from that included grilled chicken. We were brought out chips and salsa and the chips were just crumbs and we told the waitress and she brought out another bowl which wasn't much better. We ordered our lunch and it took along time about 35 minutes for it to be brought out. We just ordered the basic enchilada plate and it seemed like a long time for them to have to prepare that when most of it is usually already prepared and they just have to put it on the plate. I have had alot better food that's for sure. Service was alright she just seemed very unorganized. Before we hit the road to continue on our trip we made a stop in the restroom and while I was washing my hands I noticed someone else in there. She came out of the stall and just darted right out the door not even stopping to wash her hands. I left out right behind her and noticed that she went into the kitchen. Now I just about got sick. I think they need to be inspected and checked into to make sure there staff is following health codes NEEDLESS TO SAY WE WON'T BE BACK!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Customer Service was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I am guessing these folks took the comments below to heart. My server was as nice as can be. He made a couple of mistakes, but the manager came to my table immediately, apologized, and fixed the problem. I come from San Antonio, and lived in Mexico, so I am pretty picky about my Tex-Mex. The food was good. I enjoyed the flavor of the beef fajitas quite a bit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno Tree also viewed

 

Been to Jalapeno Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapeno Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.