We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, safe, convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15408 I-35 N 2 Hwy, Selma, TX 78154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Selma
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“clean, safe, convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel is clean, good variety at breakfast, nice pool, close to San Antonio and New Braunfels. Only problem was that there is a lot of traffic on the highway even this far from downtown, and I couldn't find a microwave. I only needed the microwave once and it was such a minor issue that I didn't even bother to ask about one. Overall a nice comfortable place to stay in a good neighborhood. I always felt safe during my stay and there are at least 2 decent restaurants within walking distance. Hotel employees are friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I had some trepidations based on some of the reviews, but the latest seemed to show improvement. I was impressed with the cleanliness, ease of access, and the breakfast buffet. Since this hotel is adjacent to a Hooters, there was some late night noise (apparently a couple was having a disagreement in the parking lot). The rooms were large, the mattress was comfortable, and I like the "soft" and "hard" labels on the pillow cases. The room was a bit pricey for the location, but it still was nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side (front) face the restaurant parking lots and can get noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

A long review isn't needed here. This hotel represents the best of what I've come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express brand.

The room was clean and very comfortable. Great location and perfect for business travelers looking to relax and have some quiet time.

I'd stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We've had two very good stays here in the past year and I gave this hotel a good review previously. But there were a number of problems during our third stay that I feel warrant an updated review and a lower rating.

The good news is the hotel is still quite new and the rooms are in good condition. I did have some trouble with the thermostat in my room, but finally got the temp where I wanted it through trial and error. Also the free breakfast was as good as it was on previous visits.

Now the problems:

The front desk did not have one of our reservations, even though I received confirmation of it online before arrival. They had plenty of rooms and were able to accommodate us, but at a higher price than I had originally booked it.

There was a pervasive smell of raw sewage in the lobby and hallways during our entire 5-night stay. It was very unpleasant. The staff seemed to be attempting to cover it up with air freshener, but they were losing the battle. I eventually mentioned this to the front desk. They shrugged and apologized without explanation.

I came back to my room one evening to find the door had not been closed securely by housekeeping; I was able to push the door open without using my key. Luckily, nothing was missing. I mentioned this to the front desk and they shrugged and apologized.

The front desk was apathetic, as you can see from the above remarks.

I hope the problems we encountered were just bad luck, but if the management is as bad as it seemed on this trip, I fear this property is on the way down. I noticed that a new Comfort Inn and a Hampton Inn are opening nearby. I think I will try one of them on my next visit.

Room Tip: Take a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Fan on the AC would not stop, next morning, Sore throat! Had to ask twice before they moved me. And they always act like you don't know what you are talking about! No Priority Rewards benefits at all, they don't seem to care. And when I asked Holiday Inn Express.Com how I found a cheaper price on price line they denied every having what is clearly on their web page:

Holiday Inn Express - Official Site | hiexpress.com
www.hiexpress.com
Best Price Guarantee or Your First Night is Free!
Holiday Inn Express Reservations
Explore Hotels and Destinations
Book Meetings, Weddings & Groups Save Up to 20% On Winter Vacations
Hotel Amenities
Announcing Our Best Price Guarantee

Best price Guarantee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Food is fatty, Powdered Eggs, coffee is ofter watered down weak, and cold! No fridge in rooms! Bathroom has no vent and mirror is gone after shower! It would stake days to dry it!

Room Tip: Try Hampton Inn!!!!! Cheaper and as good if not better, I don t pay for a name when the name is Poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We slept like rocks in this hotel. My husband laid on the bed and immediately commented on the comfort. It was very quiet at all times. No traffic noise or noise from other guests. Spotless room and clean breakfast area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I'm a big fan of the Holiday Inn Express brand and this one is a nice hotel. Fairly new and very clean. Rooms were nice, with pleasant decor and nice size. Staff was friendly with no issues. Standard HI Express breakfast with a nice eating area. A bit far from downtown San Antonio but a nice place to stay if you are on this side of town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma

Address: 15408 I-35 N 2 Hwy, Selma, TX 78154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Selma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Selma, Texas. This newly-opened Selma, Texas hotel is just minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and exciting San Antonio sites such as the Alamo and the beautiful River Walk. Our Selma, TX accommodations provide easy access to a number of local attractions and businesses as well. Conveniently situated across from I-35, this choice Selma, TX hotel offers a pleasant stay just one mile from Retama Pk and 2 miles from the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater. Families will enjoy spending time at Schlitterbahn Water Park, Six Flags Fiesta Texas or Sea World San Antonio. Visitors can also tour the Natural Bridge Caverns, go on safari at Natural Bridge Wildlife Park, shop at the Forum or check out a Spurs' game at the AT&T Center. Business travelers will appreciate our Selma hotel's convenient location near business attractions such as Southwest Business Corporation, Xerox, Inquate, TexStar and Alamo Crane. For a relaxing afternoon of golf, the hotel is just three miles from the scenic Olympia Hills Golf Course and Conference Center. During your stay in sunny Selma, TX, be sure to take advantage of our hotel's amenities, which include an outdoor pool and spa, free high-speed Internet access, a well-equipped fitness center, on-site laundry facilities and the free bkfst buffet. Book your reservations today to begin enjoying our outstanding Selma, TX hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Selma
Holiday Inn Selma
Selma Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.