We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are far better options nearby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15771 IH 35, Selma, TX 78154   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Selma
Seattle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“There are far better options nearby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I initially stayed here nine or ten years ago right after the hotel opened. At the time it was a decent place to pull off the highway and catch a shower and some zzz's.
Not so any longer. As other reviews have mentioned the place really does stink. An unusual odor of mold and decay permeates the rooms. Management simply has not cared for the building effectively.
The other challenge now is some of the staff. I encountered such a surly and rude manager he quite literally had my gal in tears within minutes. He refused to acknowledge my already paid for reservation, went on to accuse me of impersonating the individual who'd made the reservation (as well as the guy on my driver's license and stack of credit cards...including the one I'd reserved with), and told us he was calling the police if I didn't leave.
Why?
Because he's ineffective in the simplest of duties and it has to be someone else's fault. Far be it from him to assume responsibility for his clerical errors.
There are far better options nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here on July 21. Lobby was ok, nothing to say wow. Our room was on the first floor. When we first got there it was muggy in there had to crank down the ac to 63 for it to get going. The carpet was all stained up and old. I guess it might be from the pets staying here. Beds where ok. The restroom wasnt all that clean and some of the baseboard behind toilet next to shower was molded. They have a mini fridge, micro, and small desk in room. The following day I had to iron & the iron was not working, just leaked water. Went to front desk to grab another came back and that one didnt work as well. Went to the ladies in the laundry room and told them this is my second iron so they had to go hunt a new one down for me, and it worked :)....Breakfast offered waffles, eggs, sausage, fruits, cereals, etc...It worked out for us, not the best but will do. Location was good, off the highway and not far from new braunfels or san antonio...I wont stay here again due to to the rooms being ragged down and not so clean...But maybe you'll get a nice room and not one like ours...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Selma hotels

Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here 4 days. The hotel was very clean, access to San Antonio and San Marcos was easy and convenient. Many good places to eat in the area. Comfort Inn staff was great, helpful. The hotel is very safe. They have a free breakfast which is not fine dining but is good for a fresh start in the morning, Highly recommend the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here a week ago while visiting San Antonio. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. All of the staff were helpful and more than happy to help make our stay a great experience. The pool is a little small but with so much to do in the area we didn't have time to use it! Would recommend and stay here again if we visit the area.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a busy highway. We requested a backside room which turned out to be very quiet, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This Hotel offers the quickest and easiest place to stay when at Retama Park. I stayed on the fourth floor away from the highway and there was no traffic noise at all. The room was very modern and clean. The price was the easiest thing to agree on. I left before breakfast however there are plenty of places to eat both dinner and breakfast. If you are counting on a great breakfast maybe you should stay somewhere else that charges more.For the nightly price I would say I got my monies worth.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maud tx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

stayed here during spring break 2012.hotel is very clean and rooms are nice and priced good.staff was very courteous,however i had 3 children with me and it would be nice if you could depend on the FREE continental breakfast.was here for 4 nights and got up early every morning to feed kids and there was no food there any morning.manager told me that they put a certain amount of food out each morning and when it is gone they do not replenish.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here on the night of our wedding and it was a nice experience. We had a big room with a comfy king size bed. The bathtub was huge and so relaxing! It was a nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Address: 15771 IH 35, Selma, TX 78154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Selma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oversize guestrooms feature 32 inch Flat Screen/Plasma TV, Microwave, Refrigerator, In-Room Coffee Maker, Pillow Top Mattresses. Some rooms also feature Jacuzzi Tubs and Sofa Sleepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.