We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE SHOPPING MALL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Marcos Premium Outlets

San Marcos Premium Outlets
3939 IH-35 South #900, San Marcos, TX 78666
(512) 396-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Shopping in San Marcos
Type: Factory Outlets, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Marcos Premium Outlets features an impressive collection of the finest brands for you, your family and your home. Include a shopping stop during your next trip to the area. You're sure to find impressive savings of 25% to 65% all year round.San Marcos Premium Outlets is located 30 minutes south of Austin and 45 minutes north of San Antonio. Complimentary hourly shuttle service is available from Embassy Suites Hotel, Spa and Conference Center. Shuttle service from San Antonio and Austin is also available.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“HUGE SHOPPING MALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

140 stores, so where do you start? First, the parking spot... Since it was a weekend, you had to park further from the nicer stores or those you want to go to.

We got there at noon, so lunch at the food court was fine; it was huge, a few concessions to choose from, food's not bad... If you are the bbq type of guy, go to the Branding Iron BBQ. Nice serving size too.

There are about 140 stores here, and I don't want to discuss in details which store we went to or what we bought, as we were there for the afternoon with the family. Just park at the center and walk to where you want to go, or to the store that you need to purchase from.

The outlet stores have deals from 15% to as high as 80% if you are lucky. Try to get a map and see where the locations are so you can plan where you want to go - this is a huge outdoor outlet mall, so plan accordingly. I'm sure there will be a lot of stores going on sale this fourth of July, so you may want to visit that week.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    78
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Made a quick stop as we passed by. There were five in the car - grandparents and young men. Hit 10 quality stores in a short time and came away with great bargains. This outlet has some pretty high class names. Don't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding selection and prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was impressed with the number of stores, selection at most and prices. At many stores, the discount was another 40-50% off stated price. All Coach, Ann Taylor, was 50% off ticket. Cabi was 40% off with four items, etc. Lots of restrooms and soda machines. Food court is not good; plan for that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“This place pumped up my heart like I had just ran a 10km run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I spent 3 full days at San Marcos Premium Outlet! Everyday I walked 10km over 9-10 hrs at this mall. At the end of my shopping trip, I still think I should have bought another pair of shoes or a particular top etc.

Coming from my country when a kid top from Gap cost $20, a pair of Reebok shorts cost $ 40, Prada bags in $2000s etc, you would feel my excitment too.

There were many good deals in the shops. Some may have trashy items but surely you can find something in each shop. Personally I think Prada offers the best deal. Its like 60% discount from my country. Look for John at Prada. He gave the best service!

Only Banana Republic failed to impress me. I honestly believe the merchandise at BP is soley for outlet malls only. The clothes are very Gap-like quality/design.

Tanger outlet is just next door and you can easily cross the road to this outlet. But this outlet is lower end than San Marcos Premium Outlet.

Another issue I had at this mall is the lack of WIFI service. You can get WIFI only at Starbucks and if you are lucky, some shops do have guest-WIFI. But it is very troublesome to have to go to Starbucks, get a drink and use their free WIFI service.

Do stay at Embassy Suites if you are here for the shopping. Embassy Suites - 2 mins drive away, provides free shuttle to the mall and is a very decent nice hotel with breakfast included.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Now I understand the reputation for this place. Just about every store you can imagine was here. And there were some real bargains to be had in most, but not all, stores. Plus it's next to the Tanger outlet center so it's a huge area to walk and shop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marcos Premium Outlets also viewed

 

Been to San Marcos Premium Outlets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marcos Premium Outlets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.