We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't visit San Marcos without going to Alvin Ord's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alvin Ord's Sandwich Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alvin Ord's Sandwich Shop
204 University Dr, San Marcos, TX 78666-5725
512-353-8042
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 223 Restaurants in San Marcos
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't visit San Marcos without going to Alvin Ord's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Visited San Marcos to take a tour of the campus with my son. I love Alvin Ord's and ate there all of the time when I went to college. It's the same as I remember. They have expanded a bit since the last time I was there. Still a great sandwich, Shlotzskys style. Asking for a tip when I ordered was awkward, as I have seen in other posts. My advice would to be to tell the customer, "if you had great service would you consider leaving a tip for our great sandwich makers, they are starving students?" Way better approach and would probably generate more tips.

Will definately visit again. I hope with the expansion of the college Alvin Ord's won't get eaten up. Hopefully they will relocate if that happens.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bread similar to Schlotzskys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I love ordering their plain turkey breast sandwich. It is really good but there is nothing too fancy about it. The bread is similar to Schlotzskys. They do not have honey mustard as a spread. After ordering, they do ask if you would like to tip which I find to be awkward and unprofessional. The interior has booths that are completely marked with quite the variety of sharpie names, couples, cartoon art, phrases, quotes..etc..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudcroft, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches, fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This local sandwich shop is worth a try. The menu is simple and straightforward. The sandwiches are toasted and taste very good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good sandwiches but a little expensive..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Good sandwiches but a little expensive..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Smoker friendly, it's everything you ever wanted from a sandwhich but never got! Be sure to bring a marker it's...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Smoker friendly, it's everything you ever wanted from a sandwhich but never got! Be sure to bring a marker it's tradition to write on the walls!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alvin Ord's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Alvin Ord's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvin Ord's Sandwich Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.