We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN San Marcos

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN San Marcos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in San Marcos
mesquite, United States
1 review
“Not for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have read other reviews before I chose this hotel, HBO didn't work (guess I got the same room as that review), bathroom ok just a few hairs on the floor and bathtub. Parking lot was full on arrival asked was there more parking else where, clerk didn't answer for a good 5 minutes, and then said he no, he didn't know what to say that he was trying to figure out what to do with trailers that someone just unhooked and left in parking spots. I was on my own to find a spot. Lucky for me there was one. Others weren't and had to park in the drive thru areas because nothing was done about the trailers. Stay was okay but not for the amount I paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Joann,

Thank you for taking time to write and share your experience about your stay with us. We are extremely sorry for not meeting your expectation and we will definitely take your feedback and improve on our services in future.

Once again thank you for staying with us and hope you will give us another chance to serve you better.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    16
    9
    15
See reviews for
42
26
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very friendly staff - very close to shopping and tubing - would highly recommend for the price. The breakfast is adequate - could use some work. The pool is very small - but comfortable to relax after a long day of moving your college student into their first apartment. Very close to Texas Roadhouse - Enjoyed a very nice meal!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Karen K,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. We are very pleased to make your stay comfortable and memorable - which is always our goal. Your feedback definitely helps us to improve and we really appreciate it.

Please do not hesistate to contact us directly if you need anything for your future visits.
Looking forward to seeing you!

Sincerely,

Mike Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels, and I am not hard to please. As far as the room it's ok the beds and pillows I found to be hard. The room was bare but did offer a fridge and microwave. The bathroom is small. They offer breakfast but not much selection nothing like BW I've stayed at in the past. They have a pool, no business center but they do have a computer in the lobby are for email checking only. Then what left a bad taste in my mouth because we stay at hotels all the time I've NEVER paid for copies. If you wanted to print something it was 0.50!!!!! I had to print our Schlitterbahn tickets it was $5.00, and when they printed out you could hardly read it bc they are out of ink I told the lady I think you should charge me 0.25 since you can barely see the ink. She still charges me, and we are Platinum Reward Members that's a lot of $ being spent at BW to reach that status. Next time I will go else where to a more customer friendly hotel that's is not worried about every nickel and dime they can out of you. Even in your bathroom of the hotel room they have a list of charges should you take a towel, hand towel, pillow ext. Who does that?!?! Never again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear carmickleklan,

Thank you very much for taking time to write and share your experince about your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, we could not meet your expectation, which is always our goal - superior customer service and we strive to make it happen.
As far as, charging for copies - we often waive copies fee upon request but normally when guests have lot to print we do charge. Our signs in bathroom is for guests who wants to buy our products. We have many guests who come to the desk and asks if they can buy our pillows or sheets or towels etc. that's why we have put up that sign to let our guests know that they can buy if they want to.
However, hope we will get another chance to serve you in future. Please get in touch with me directly so I can assist you with any concerns you may have.

Sincerely,

Mike Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Cheaper than New Braunfels area! It was the perfect place for our family for a weekend trip! Nice staff, clean room, comfy bed that you do not expect from a small hotel, good breakfast and overall great place. We would stay here again! Oh and the pool stays open till 11:00pm. Most close at 10:00. **It is located at the end of the building and there was no noise heard:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Brandie,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience. Our goal is to create a memorable stay for our guest and we are able to do so with you. Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My family of 5 ALL slept horribly last night. The bed felt like it was made out of brick and all the pillows were hard and felt like they were about a foot thick. Waste of money; I'll hafta think twice about staying at a B. W. again any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at our property. We are sorry about your bad experience, we strive to serve our guest with the best of everything, however your experience did not match our goal. Though our bedding and pillows are recently changed and fairly new and we have been getting lot of compliment of how comfortable our beds are but your experience has definitely helped us to look into it. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

It was adequate. It seemed clean enough but the hallway smelled weird. We were promptly moved to another room when our first didn't have a good A/C. Breakfast was less than expected. The toaster didnt work but the coffee was decent. My husband's waffle looked fine. Hotel was definitely overpriced at $89-ish.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, Owner at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear CheriR,

Thank you so much for choosing our Best Western for your lodging needs. We always strive to be so much more than simply "adequate" and we invite you back to experience the "Wow!" of it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, TX
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I made my reservation before several of the reviews right before mine were completed. I found the hotel to be very quiet. Yes, the tub dripped but you couldn't hear it unless you were in the bathroom and therefore it wasn't a nuisance. The room was very clean and neat. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was okay they had some hot items-(eggs, make-your-own waffles), toast, bagels, and cereal. We didn't use the pool. It was slightly higher than I expected, but assumed it was due to the location. The staff I had interaction with were friendly and helpful. I stayed there two nights while my daughter took a tour of the Texas State University. I will stay there again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, Owner at BEST WESTERN San Marcos, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear janet79720,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write your review! It is a pleasure to know that we met your lodging needs and provided you with a clean, comfortable room.

Always keep us in mind when you are visiting your daughter while she is away at college!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN San Marcos

Address: 917 I-H 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marcos Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.