We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites San Marcos

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites San Marcos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites San Marcos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   104 IH 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in San Marcos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Labor Day Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice clean room. Great selections at breakfast buffet. Prices increased for Labor Day weekend. Breakfast buffet set up could be improved as most of the heartiest foods are right together and create a bottle neck. Only 2 waffle makers ( it is make your own) and a long line.

Room Tip: call ahead way in advance to request the type of room you desire. Right on the freeway but no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice room, very clean. Great breakfast in the morning. When researching hotels for our weekend stay, I'd found that all hotels in the area have higher prices than I'd expected. But, this Comfort Suites seemed to be the nicest hotel at the best price. I'm happy I wasn't wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have no clue what probably very overpaid mental ingrate came up with the moronic idea little half pillows are cute. They may be cute but I am going to stop staying at Comfort Suites because I want a real pillow. I opened the closet just hoping for a real pillow. Nope it was another tiny one. The entire chain uses these lousy little mental ingrate pillows.
As far as this location goes I had a nice clean room with five tiny pillows on the bed. John at the desk was extra nice offering good service.
If you have no problem with mental ingrate tiny pillows, it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were just in town for the night and found everything we need in a hotel here. The room was clean and smelled clean. Breakfast was what we've come to expect from a free hotel breakfast, everything was fresh.

My biggest delight actually had to do with breakfast. We came downstairs and were thrilled to see the dining area television tuned to Nickelodeon instead of a news channel! It was a great way to start our Saturday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We have visited many CS, but were quite disappointed with this one. Nothing amazing here, just a standard hotel. We would probably not revisit this location. Initial room had a a/c that was not functioning...told staff at desk 3 times before we were moved to another room. Friendly, just not very proactive. Breakfast was just ok. Nothing fabulous:(

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was just about what one might expect to experience at a Comfort Suites. The lobby, breakfast area, and elevator could cause a little apprehension, but the room was nice, clean, and appeared to have been remodeled recently. One great plus was the air conditioner which shut down instead of running constantly all night long. The television is located adjacent to the bed, which makes it somewhat difficult to watch it from the "suite" area; my pet peeve with all Comfort Suites. The hotel is a little high on the number of reward points they charge if you wanted to use Choice Privilege points for your stay, but then the other two adjacent motels are also overly proud of their facilities. Parking security appeared to be very good with a video monitoring system located at the front desk. Great location for dining with a cafeteria and restaurants in walking distance. Absolutely no complaints with the breakfast selections.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the freeway have minor traffic noise; rooms on the backside might be little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a nice hotel! Good breakfast (with meat) in the morning & generally a nice place. We just needed a place to crash for the evening & get up & go again the next day, & it served that purpose! I would recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Marcos

Address: 104 IH 35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Marcos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites in San Marcos is easily accessible to all area attractions including Texas State University, Outlet shopping, Wonderworld and within a short drive of Schitterbahn & Austin as well. The hotel offers interior corridors, elevator, pool, business center, exercise room, and a wonderful free hot breakfast with rotating menu. We hope to be of service to you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.