We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty, room smells like ash tray.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn San Marcos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn San Marcos to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   817 I-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
New Mexico
1 review
“Nasty, room smells like ash tray.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

We checked in to our non-smoking room and it wreaked of smoke and B.O.. The bed mattress was badly stained with something nasty. The sheets were stained yellow. Cigarette burn holes in the window screen. When we asked to change rooms they said NO. All they could do was offer a box of Baking Soda to pour on the carpet. The next day we asked about their 100% satisfaction Guarantee that is posted everywhere. ( " Our Red Roof Inn Guest Service Guarantee
Your satisfaction is important to us, so we guarantee it! Should you have a concern during your stay, please let us know. We will make it right. If we can't resolve the concern, we don't expect you to pay, it's that simple! " ) They claimed they don't honor that anymore. I would have posted pictures of the mattress but our camera disappeared from the room while it was being cleaned in the morning.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    9
    6
    17
See reviews for
24
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson,TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

Dont' know where the last reviewer stayed, but it couldn't have been this hotel. the rooms were large and clean. The staff was very friendly and even the housekeepers were very friendly. Our room was in fine contion. The breakfast is continental and thats what they say it is. Overall very happy with our stay and would reccomend it to anyone going to San Marcos, TX. This is a great budget hotel, and i will stay there again. I'm not looking to spend $100 a night, and for what I paid I am more than satisfied.

  • Liked — Large spacious rooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2006

We just returned from a one-night stay at the Red Roof Inn in San Marcos, TX. It was awful, to say the least -- dirty, old, in bad need of repairs, broken furniture, worn out mattresses and linens -- just plain nasty. When we checked out, the clerk didn't know how to use the credit card machine, then claimed to be a genius when she figured it out. The continental breakfast looked pathetic, but we just couldn't eat there because the entire property was so dirty. There was very little occupancy and had we not missed the 6 pm cancellation opportunity, we would have surely stayed elsewhere. It was a complete nightmare.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Everything -- it was filthy!
  • Tips/Secrets — DO NOT STAY THERE
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

While the staff was nice and the room was clean, the bed was the worst. The continental breakfast had a small offering. It just seemed like everything they provided at the hotel was the cheapest possible quality.

To be fair, asided from these issues the rooms were clean and nice.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

I evacuated to San Marcos from Galveston because of Hurricane Rita. The hotel was packed with people for the same reason. Everyone from the manager to the maids were helpful and friendly. They did their best to help everyone as much as they could despite the fact that there were times when the phone never seemed to stop ringing.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2005

My family recently stayed at this hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They gave us many restaurant recommendations and were great with directions. the rooms are large and comfortable. We had a room with 2 queen beds...most hotels i have stayed at offer double sized beds. I read the negative review below and it seems a little odd to me that all of the other reviews are totally positive. You should give this hotel a try. My daughter goes to the local university and this is the place I will be staying when i go to San Marcos.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2005

Very clean room with fast internet connection. 25" TV with 80+ channels. HBO. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Marcos

Address: 817 I-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.