We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Raining” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn San Marcos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn San Marcos to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn San Marcos
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1619 I-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dirty and Raining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at La Quinta September 27 -29, 2013. The room was dirty. The phone looked like it had never been cleaned. The room smelled. The bathroom floor was filthy. On the second night, there was a bad storm. Then it started leaking through the ceiling. I had to put a trash can under the leak to catch the water. The plaster was coming off the ceiling. I could hardly go back to sleep listening to the water drip. I did complain at check out and they apologized and comp'd one night's stay. I did appreciate that but I will never stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    46
    39
    35
    21
See reviews for
92
27
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at LaQuinta because a block of rooms had been reserved for a wedding I was attending. The bathroom was filthy, particularly around the toilet and baseboard in front of the bath tub. Mold on the shower curtain; shower head that sprayed in a million directions. Carpet tacks coming through the carpet between the bedroom section and bathroom section. Crumbs and a red stain between the bed and the bedside table. They took out the dirty towels the first day but only replaced with one towel and never got a bath mat back at all. Used the in-room coffee maker the first day, too, but that was the end of any more coffee for the room. On a positive note, the staff was extremely nice and very helpful. If I could have afforded to move to another hotel, as all but one of the other family members planning to stay here did, I certainly would have. "Wake up on the bright side?" Never again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed while my husband attended a conference. It close to SA and Fiesta TX. there are so many natural attractions in the area and this La Quinta is nicely located nearby.

The staff was eager to help with whatever needs we had.

This location is listed as an "Inn" however I believe the side building was in fact suites. I will call the location next time before booking to stay in a suite!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Took our family to San Marcos and New Braunfels in late summer where we stayed at the La Quinta. This is one of the "older" designed properties (meaning the doors open outside instead of on an interior hall). But don't let the older design deter you for this is a very nice motel. A short drive to Schlitterbahn and an even shorter drive to two great outlet malls. The only downside I could see was having the drive about a mile past the motel when coming from the south so we could return on the southbound side of the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First stay at this hotel- found it to be friendly, of excellent value, clean and the beds much more comfortable than other hotels in the area. I would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect for those visiting Texas State or the various outlets in the area. Very pleased with the breakfast selections and good coffee for those early mornings!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here in the past and will probably stay again. PROS and CONS: Bad news first. Dead roach in the bathroom. But, hey it is Texas. And, it was dead. Towels were not soft. And, there was not a tray under the ice bucket. So, I could bring back coffee in the morning. However, PROS: the girl at the front desk found a cardboard box, that I could use. All the staff was friendly. Check-in was quick. Rooms were clean with A/C on upon arrival. Comfy beds. Decent breakfast. Good location. Good Value.
(Did not use the pool, or fitness)

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back. Freeway noise in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Above Motel 6/Super8, but just bearly and the price was a little above the quility. Every member of the staff I met were very nice. The area was right off I-35 for an easy on/easy off. Ill let the breakfest make or break the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Marcos

Address: 1619 I-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
La Quinta San Marcos
San Marcos La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.