We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stop” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Rodeway Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Marcos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rodeway Inn
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 I-35 N., San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 27 hotels in San Marcos
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An ok stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Real cheap cost for a group with five rooms. Clean but does need some serious updating. Thus a lower cost. One person in our party misplaced his iPad at the location. The manager at first knew nothing about it but complained about to cheap pillows not in the room. They were actually moved to another room and left there. The iPad was recovered later in the afternoon with no incident. Hotel is easy to get n and out in. Not much on extras but again cheap

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Everything went well. Rooms were clean and bed felt great. From the time we checked in to the time we left. The rooms could've been bigger but for what we paid I believe it was a great stay. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My children and I checked into this hotel for one night, as my son moved into his dorm at Texas State. During our few hours there (we ultimately had to flee) we had four different types of insects in our room---ants on the ceiling, crickets and a roach from under the door/leaky AC unit), and---the final straw---unidentified black bugs crawling on my daughter's bed (2 were in my hair). We changed rooms once, then ultimately (after the bugs in the hair incident), I demanded my money back and we had to relocate to another hotel late at night (with a ten hour drive ahead of me the next morning). The front desk clerk was a schmuck, but once the manager showed up, things were handled and I was treated with respect. It was a nightmare and I certainly hope they fired that jerk clerk---whose response to the bug situation was sarcasm and disrespect. It is Austin or San Antonio next time for my family!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I stayed at the Rodeway in San Marcos, TX in order to scuba dive at Spring Lake. The cost of my stay was quite reasonable. The room was clean and housekeeping was prompt. Do not expect a lot of extras as this is an old motel and does show it's age. The facility was in need of remoldeling. Room did have small refrigerator, microwave, hairdry, and ironing board. No coffee available in the room. Security needs to be addressed as public can access the facility across a vacant field in the back and there was no functional lighting in the back parking lot. Staff was friendly and offered help if needed. Overall i may or may not stay there again as there are other motel chains nearby and not that much more in cost. Also, the swimming pool looked clean but was posted with a no swimming sign. There were guests swimming in the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Room was too small, nice and clean but smelled, beds were not comfortable, could hear the people next door, they were too loud, the door was not safe, had to pressed very hard to close it, even my wife was not able to close it. Didn't like the bathroom either, not a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

I just returned from a 2 night stay at this motel. The bathroom was dirty, bath towels threadbare and grimy, and the bathtub did not drain. The blankets were burned and stained. When something was stolen from our room, I was assured no one on staff had anything to do with it. Since the staff and hotel management are the only people who had access to our room, they are ultimately responsible--the kids at the front desk did not know how to handle the situation and the manager simply avoided us.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 801 I-35 N., San Marcos, TX 78666
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.