We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stop” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Rodeway Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Marcos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rodeway Inn
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
801 I-35 N., San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in San Marcos
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An ok stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Real cheap cost for a group with five rooms. Clean but does need some serious updating. Thus a lower cost. One person in our party misplaced his iPad at the location. The manager at first knew nothing about it but complained about to cheap pillows not in the room. They were actually moved to another room and left there. The iPad was recovered later in the afternoon with no incident. Hotel is easy to get n and out in. Not much on extras but again cheap

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Everything went well. Rooms were clean and bed felt great. From the time we checked in to the time we left. The rooms could've been bigger but for what we paid I believe it was a great stay. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My children and I checked into this hotel for one night, as my son moved into his dorm at Texas State. During our few hours there (we ultimately had to flee) we had four different types of insects in our room---ants on the ceiling, crickets and a roach from under the door/leaky AC unit), and---the final straw---unidentified black bugs crawling on my daughter's bed (2 were in my hair). We changed rooms once, then ultimately (after the bugs in the hair incident), I demanded my money back and we had to relocate to another hotel late at night (with a ten hour drive ahead of me the next morning). The front desk clerk was a schmuck, but once the manager showed up, things were handled and I was treated with respect. It was a nightmare and I certainly hope they fired that jerk clerk---whose response to the bug situation was sarcasm and disrespect. It is Austin or San Antonio next time for my family!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilpatricku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I stayed at the Rodeway in San Marcos, TX in order to scuba dive at Spring Lake. The cost of my stay was quite reasonable. The room was clean and housekeeping was prompt. Do not expect a lot of extras as this is an old motel and does show it's age. The facility was in need of remoldeling. Room did have small refrigerator, microwave, hairdry, and ironing board. No coffee available in the room. Security needs to be addressed as public can access the facility across a vacant field in the back and there was no functional lighting in the back parking lot. Staff was friendly and offered help if needed. Overall i may or may not stay there again as there are other motel chains nearby and not that much more in cost. Also, the swimming pool looked clean but was posted with a no swimming sign. There were guests swimming in the pool.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Room was too small, nice and clean but smelled, beds were not comfortable, could hear the people next door, they were too loud, the door was not safe, had to pressed very hard to close it, even my wife was not able to close it. Didn't like the bathroom either, not a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

I just returned from a 2 night stay at this motel. The bathroom was dirty, bath towels threadbare and grimy, and the bathtub did not drain. The blankets were burned and stained. When something was stolen from our room, I was assured no one on staff had anything to do with it. Since the staff and hotel management are the only people who had access to our room, they are ultimately responsible--the kids at the front desk did not know how to handle the situation and the manager simply avoided us.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - San Marcos
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
#8 of 30 in San Marcos
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn San Marcos
Days Inn San Marcos
#16 of 30 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#15 of 30 in San Marcos
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Marcos
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#4 of 30 in San Marcos
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 801 I-35 N., San Marcos, TX 78666
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing