We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, and one of the more reasonable places to stay in the...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Marcos

Save Saved
You added Travelodge San Marcos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge San Marcos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1611 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in San Marcos
Tyler
1 review
“Clean, and one of the more reasonable places to stay in the...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Clean, and one of the more reasonable places to stay in the area. Have stayed here several times, and will again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    37
    25
    44
See reviews for
69
31
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jay
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room was dirty and beds were uncomfortable. The service was fast and friendly and it was close to the interstate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had reservations for a 4 night stay do to a job transfer. You get what you pay for! Roaches were in bathroom, the paint on the ceiling was hanging, the light/exhaust fan in the bathroom made a horrible sound and smelled like it would catch on fire, the tub was cracked, mildew/mold visible. Did not appear that anything had been wiped down. Light fixtures etc. had smudges from who knows what all over them. The staff did not change sheets daily (husband marked a sheet), the pillows had stains on them (yes we checked). I brought my own cleaning supplies and went to town on everything, but still felt gross. We did not eat the complimentary breakfast or check out the pool, can't even imagine what that would have been like! Not worth the money :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked 2 rooms (on 6/12/13) for the weekend of 6/22-23/13, so our son could visit the campus, check out the town & visit with out of town family members. On 6/13-14/13, I called the club (hotelclub.com) that I had booked through to make sure we were given a downstairs ADA room on the first floor. We have a basset & a daschund & unless there is an elevator (there isn't), we always request downstairs. The representative (who was VERY nice), advised she would send an email to the hotel, but suggested I call them directly, to insure my request(s) would be granted. I called & was promptly put on hold for 20 minutes. When the clerk finally came back on the line, she rudely informed me that the ADA rooms were "first come, first serve" & if I really "NEEDED" the first floor, I would have to talk to the manager. When I informed this clerk that I had already paid for the room, she informed me that it didn't matter, this was the hotel policy & that I would have to speak with the manager. This "manager" & I played phone tag from 6/15/13 until 6/20/13, whereupon he informed me that he would do all he could to accommodate all of my requests. When I got home that evening (6/20/13, after 10pm), there was a message from him, advising he had cancelled my reservation & to make accommodations elsewhere. I called him at 9 am, 6/21/13, & he advised me that he was a small family run business (NOT), that he only had 6-8 ADA rooms (not all on the first floor & this is supposedly a 100+ room facility), that I was being EXTREMELY DEMANDING (because of the ADA room & the first floor request) & I could take my business elsewhere! I had read the reviews before I booked the rooms & even though they were not good, several co-workers of mine recommended this place because of the location. We drove by this hotel on our way into San Marcos & I must say that for the price I had paid($168), I am glad that the "manager" cancelled. The place is NOT well maintained, the lobby is dowdy & smelly. We got a peek at a downstairs ADA room & it too, was on the "smelly" side (the maid was cleaning), as well as being dowdy. When you look this place up on the Travelodge website, the pictures must be VERY OLD, as it does not look that way today. If you want an ADA room on the first floor & you have pets, do not, repeat DO NOT stay here...You will have wasted your money & there are better, pet friendly (La Quinta right next door) hotels, with better staffs. I cannot & will not even give this place a rating, my experience was so bad, however, to write a review, I have to rate.

Room Tip: Go to the La Quinta next door.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

So, sad to be here :( disappoint the bathroom is broke, no kidding, the A.C isn't good, the bathroom is dirty, the neighbor was a party outside and they did't do nothing about.
The from desk is just pretty, my son told me that " I think they put all the money there" because they fink look like put some money in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Marcos

Address: 1611 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Marcos 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Comfort Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.