We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty sheets all stained mattress pad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge San Marcos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge San Marcos to your Saves list
Travelodge San Marcos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1611 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty sheets all stained mattress pad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

My sheets had stains on the feet area, the browwn blanket had crusty white stuff and brown stains the comforter had icky on top. The shower curtain moldy :( gross never staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    40
    29
    49
See reviews for
76
34
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

There were bugs in our room on check-in. We asked to be moved. Eventually, we asked the night manager to cancel our reservation due to the bugs, his response was "how do I know you did not put the bugs in our room". We were not asking for a free nights stay, we asked to cancel our reservation, preferring to drive back to our home in Austin and return to San Marcos the following morning. When we called back to talk to the manager/owner, he said that it was a hotel and that hotels have bugs......

In the end, we paid $126 for a room in which we did not stay, managed by someone who accused us of planting the bugs owned by someone who thinks bugs in your hotel room is normal. All we wanted was a refund for a room in which we would not stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here without making reservations and literally got the last room in town. The room was very affordable and clean. I asked for and got a non smoking room (not a deodorized smoking room) . The manager and staff were friendly and helpful and the free breakfast had a nice selection of food and drink even though we were some of the last visitors before it closed. I will make it a point to stay here again !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The staff was nice enough. Aside from that, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
When we pulled up at around 8:00 there were people standing outside their hotel room on the first floor yelling at each other and drinking beer. They had their music as loud as it would go outside and they threw their empty beer cans into the bushes when they were done.
Our room ended up being right above theirs.
We had to be up early the next morning, so around 9:30 we decided to notify the staff. They said they had already told them 3 times to be quiet, so we should give them one more chance and then call the cops. Around midnight the music stopped. I'm not sure if it was because of the staff or if they just decided to go in, but waiting that long for results was a little frustrating.
The room didn't look horribly dirty, but the sheets were stained and the bedspread felt rough, like it hadn't been washed.
We had family staying in the room next door and we found out the next morning that my sister in law had been bitten by a bug during the night. They pulled back the bedspread and found three or four small bugs under the covers. They looked like ticks, and when she crushed one it was full of blood. We showed them to the people at the front desk and they said they get in when the rooms get cleaned during the day. I think they gave her 10 dollars off her room.
We decided not to stay there the next night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Though it was nothing fancy, bed was comfy. Customer service was good. Location was great. Overall, what we needed for the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is 100% disgusting. The management is awful. My boyfriend and I went up to the room and we were horrified. We immediately went to the front desk and requested a refund. After a few arguments we were finally given a refund. We left the hotel and found a WAY nicer one right down the street. After a few hours we get a call from Travelodge saying they decided NOT to give us a refund. This is all after we have booked another hotel. PLEASE steer clear of this hotel it is HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and I must say, I was pleasantly suprised! When I checked in they had me in a 2nd story room, I have bad knees and they do NOT have an elevator, so I asked if they had a 1st floor room, he made the change with no problems at all! The front desk clerks were always nice, the room was clean, and most importantly...it was a great deal! I booked through Priceline and my room was only $46 a night! Yes, the breakfast lacked a little, but for the money saved on the room, you can afford to go eat at iHop! It was still ok though, they had do-it yourself waffles, coffee, juice, toast, and some asst. muffins and stuff., and the room had a microwave, frig., coffee maker, iron/ironing board & a hair dryer. The ONLY thing that was a negative, was that it was hard to get to coming from the San Antonio area, easy the other way, but maybe I just didn't know the right way to go to get back to the hotel.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: we had a bottom floor king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Marcos

Address: 1611 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Comfort Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.