We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos

Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   108 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666 (Formerly San Marcos Hotel & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in San Marcos
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel staff went over and above to make us feel comfortable. We had mentioned our luggage didn't make our connection and would be delivered later. They handed us a very nice care bag in case the luggage didnt arrive as well as some snacks. Free breakfast is a great extra and we went every morning. We've stayed at this hotel twice before and would definitely go back again. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express as your hotel in San Marcos. We greatly appreciate your positive review of our property. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Thank You,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
33
11
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to go shopping at the outlet malls for a head start on Christmas. Perfect timing I might add. Liked this price as the Embassy Suites was WAY up there. I don't think this hotel was worth the $104. that we paid. Possibly a $80. room. Good Location, Comfortable Beds, but I bumped it down to a 3 from a 4 for the price. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you chose to stay with us. We are constantly performing updates and renovations to this property. We do hope that you choose us in the future and don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay of more value.

Thanks,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed at several hotels in San Marcos. The hotel is conveniently located to the college and shopping. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the service is good. I will definitely be returning to the San Marcos HIE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessikah S, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to your next visit in San Marcos. Let us know if there is any thing we can do to make your next stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Marcos even more enjoyable than your last!

Sincerely,

Jessikah S.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

While the hotel staff did their best to keep the hotel clean, the state of disrepair obviously made it difficult. The hotel lobby and halways had a terrible mildew smell. Although the bed linens were white and clean, they were rough and thin. The bedside lights did not work, the toilet ran constantly, the shower did not drain, and the bathroom tile had huge gaps where the grout used to be. Overall, very dissapointing and couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Somer F,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that our hallways and lobby smelt of mildew and that some items in your room were not working. It is our regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of the room your received. Please accept my sincere apologies for falling short your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A group of moms and high school teens shared rooms. We found the rooms comfortable and clean. The air conditioning was especially nice this time of year. The hot breakfast was excellent and contained several options. The location is near just off of the freeway and near entertainment and eateries. Overall, very good visit, but a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Def a good place to stay,room was very nice and comfortable.Great location right next to lubys,red lobster & chili's.Yummy breakfast & lots to choose from.only little complain I had was someone not controlling their kids.running up and down the hallway,but other than that it was a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is the poorest of the HI Expresses I have stayed in. The staff while generally very nice do not seem to care about the upkeep of the hotel. Rooms are falling apart and are generally dingy. Stay next door. Not worth the $129.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos

Address: 108 IH-35 North, San Marcos, TX 78666 (Formerly San Marcos Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
Holiday Inn San Marcos
San Marcos Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham San Marcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.