We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax and Eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topwater Grill

Topwater Grill
815 Avenue O, San Leon, TX 77539-2649
281-339-1232
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in San Leon
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Galveston County Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax and Eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great seafood entrees .. with a wonderful view of Galveston Bay. A little hard to find if you do not know the area, but most up-to-date GPS units will not have a problem getting you there. You being by taking FM-517 east off of Highway 146. It is worth the drive. The food is excellent. Whether eating with my wife or with friends, I've not had a bad meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Galveston Bay Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

For the price, it was nice dining and good food, loved the roasted oysters, oysters rockefeller! Enjoyed the tuna, too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Stockton, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sea Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fresh Oysters on the half shells very good. Value is good, Beer very cold. Atmosphere is great. Also can park your boat and go have lunch or dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“TALK ABOUT GREAT SEAFOOD! WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well my husband and I were certainly NOT DISAPPOINTED in the Topwater Grill!
The grill was rebuilt after Hurricane Ike and came back even better than before. Wonderful atmosphere, the best seafood and a great price.

We finally got that fried seafood platter we've been waiting for:

3 Large Fried Shrimp
3 Large Fried Oysters
4 X-Large Catfish Fillets
1 Big Stuffed Crab
1 Big Stuffed Shrimp
Scallops
Hushpuppies - Regular and Jalepeno
Cole Slaw
Fries

YUMMY!!

Don't miss this on your trip to the Gulf Coast!

LindaP

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

On the opposite end of the road from Bubba's, the Topwater Grill provides a good dining experience and good food, though I like the more laid-back atmosphere of Bubba's Shrimp Palace better, given my fondness for all-you-can-eat deals. Still, Topwater remains a good classic seafood restaurant in the area, and is worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topwater Grill also viewed

 

Been to Topwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topwater Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.