We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY restaurant in San Angelo that surprises, delights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silo House Restaurant

Silo House Restaurant
2503 Martin Luther King Blvd, San Angelo, TX 76903-2844
325-658-3333
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 162 Restaurants in San Angelo
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“The ONLY restaurant in San Angelo that surprises, delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This restaurant is the only in San Angelo to be worthy of a Texas Monthly review. Tucked away in a eclectic little artist commune, The Chicken Farm Art Center, Salt at the Silo offers a truly unique dining experience. The menu changes weekly featuring items such as Smoked Sea Salt Rubbed Beef Tenderloin with Gnocchi, Crimini Mushrooms, Arugula, Gorgonzola-Sun Dried Tomato Cream and Seared Atlantic Salmon with Crispy Polenta, Brussel Sprouts, Crudo. BYOB. Wonderful ambiance, reservations recommended. Worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Service was awesome. Presentation fantastic. Chef was flexible with my dietary restrictions. Food was delicious. Atmosphere peaceful. A beautiful rose was presented to me at the end of the meal! How perfect.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Had beef tenderloin with mushrooms and gnocchi. It was the best food I've had in San Angelo.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“B&B plus more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Bed and breakfasts are different. The Chicken Farm is more different. It is, indeed, a converted chicken farm that is largely a collection of working art studios and glleries along with some rooms and probably the finest dining in San Angelo. (That's not a back-handed complement. Surprisingly, SA has some restaurants that are quite good.) The studios and galleries are worth touring.

We stayed in the Silo Suite which, as the name suggests, is a converted grain silo (two, actually, thus the suite). The suite is directly above the lovely Silo restaurant which receives very good reviews from the locals and online. Restaurant prices are fixe prix for three courses and reasonable considering the quality. The suite is small but comfortable. Be aware, it's up a winding staircase.

The room rates are less than those you'll pay at the local Holiday Inn Express and their competitors and far more interesting. Plus you'll be supporting the local arts community instead of some soulless ;) multinational corporation.

By the way, the owners (whose names, embarrassingly, elude me right now) are very gracious. His breakfast scones are worth the calories.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An outstanding dining experience in an unlikely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We happened to be staying overnight at The Old Chicken Farm (a most unusual and delightful B&B about which I'll write a separate review), so we decided to have dinner at the lovely, charming restaurant located right in The Old Chicken Farm. The food was outstanding, and the service, provided by a friendly. attentive and informative young man named Brice, was excellent. We really felt like we could have been dining in New York or even Paris, where gourmet restaurants are more the rule than in small cities such as San Angelo. The dishes were innovative and delicious. We enjoyed our meal enormously and would highly recommend this place. By the way, there is a somewhat less enthusiastic review of the Silo House Restaurant in TripAdvisor from a couple of years ago; it is our understanding that the restaurant is, as of relatively recently, under new ownership and, in fact, the name has changed and the restaurant is now called Salt @ The Silo House. Go... and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silo House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Silo House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silo House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.