We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have consulted Trip Advisor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zentner's Daughter Steak House

Zentner's Daughter Steak House
1901 Knickerbocker Rd, San Angelo, TX 76904-5523
325-949-2821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 178 Restaurants in San Angelo
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Stuttgart, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Should have consulted Trip Advisor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Plus side: We had a great server. Baked potato was great. Ok. Con side: Salads were past prime and had greasy soggy croutons on top. Greasy fries, undersized/overcooked filet, overcooked ribeye were not expected. The fries and filet were sent back to the kitchen. The "owner"came to our table and tossed his card down and wanted to know what was wrong with the steak. Husband explained to him that it was over-cooked and not 8 ounces. "Owner"said it was weighed and weighed 6 ounces after the bite my husband tried. He then proceeded to tell us he had been in business 48 years. Maybe that's why they are ranked #62 on TA. My husband asked him several times to just drop it and leave the table. This was on Monday night at 6 pm. Not a busy time but enough customers in the area that we were extremely embarrassed. Also the pineapple on our guest's ham steak was burned. The filet was deducted from our meal. Most of the ribeye was left on the plate in the grease it arrived on.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    18
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A TRUE top level Texas Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have the great experience of meeting an old friend at this top notch steakhouse while in San Angelo. The service was superb and having met the owner, and her husband made the experience even better. Food was great, the bartender attentive and thanks Betty for the introduction to the limited and special Texas wine. And the onion rings are not to be believed both for quality and quanity! This is a special and must see stop when in San Angelo!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breegg, Owner at Zentner's Daughter Steak House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
It was a pleasure to visit with you and Glad To Have A New Texas Wine enthusiast. Yea! Glad you enjoyed. Thanks for visiting with us and do come again when you are back in TEXAS.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Over priced. Slow Service. My prime rib came out cold in the middle and hot on the edges...signs of it being microwaved. We had to have been seated for over 20 minutes before someone ever took our order.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breegg, Owner at Zentner's Daughter Steak House, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
You failed to mention that it was Valentine Evening. We do not use a microwave . And we do not even serve prime rib. I am sorry for the wait but this was one of the busiest times of the year besides Mother's Day. I am not sure what steak you ordered but if you order any type of steak from rare to med well the center is always going to be cooler than the outside. I do value all responds and follow up on them. I do hope you will dine with us again at a less traffic time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The bar tender didn't know how to make a whiskey old fashion sweet they were out of fillets and tenderloins I had a ribeye that had no flavor they serve there food on plastic plates. Really
Don't waste your time go to miss hatties down town



    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breegg, Owner at Zentner's Daughter Steak House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I have to explain to you that our beef is aged 30 days and when we run out we are out of the age beef for that day. San Angelo has their Stock and Show Rodeo this week and we ran out although we antisipated having more aged Beef we did not come anywhere close to having enough. I appologized for the dissapointment of not having the Tenders. As for the seasoning, I am confused we season with our Traditional Garlic Seasoning we do have salt and pepper on the table, as some people look for a lighter seasoning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinger, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What was that?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Service was ok but not great. Forgot to bring out part of our meal. The chicken fried steak was ok but not great The gravy on the chicken fried steak was not recognizable. Dressing for the salad was more like tartar sauce than Ranch dressing. We meet there with a group every couple of months, otherwise we would not go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breegg, Owner at Zentner's Daughter Steak House, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Please the next time you are with your group let me know I would like to make things right. I want to enjoy your dining experience every time you dine with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zentner's Daughter Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Zentner's Daughter Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zentner's Daughter Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.