We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Secret Garden of art & hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Art Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Angelo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Art Center
Save
You added Inn at the Art Center to your Saves list
2503 Martin Luther King Blvd., San Angelo, TX 76903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Multiple Nights
Ranked #1 of 3 San Angelo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Secret Garden of art & hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

What a beautiful place!! If you have ever actually stayed here, you know what I am talking about. We stayed in the Santa Fe room, & very much enjoyed it. It was very clean and had plenty of room. It had a private entrance & a bathroom all to our own, which was fully stocked with fluffy towels & amenities. The kitchen had waffles, fruit, toast, and all the fixings. The coffee was so awesome, I had to ask the owners what it was so I could stock up for myself. They ended up giving us some to take with us. Thanks Jerry & Susan!!! We found a variety of art. Potters, painters, stone carvers, jewelry makers, & even some goat cheese… Yum! Everyone at the Old Chicken Farm Art Center couldn’t have been nicer. We had a wonderful time & can’t wait to go back for a getaway from the kiddos.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
33
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Tried to stay here, but owner said it was not "kid-proof", even though I have a 11 year old who loves art and wants to learn about the art world. Guess I'll steer him (and any others) away from this self-centered place to more welcoming, hospitable experiences.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gswarnell, Owner at Inn at the Art Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
I am sorry you feel that way, but we do have a no pets, and no children policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed there on a Saturday afternoon and Saturday evening.
We stayed in The Artist's Loft, a suite made from two grain silos. The suite was comfy with a cozy reading nook, roomy shower, and an unusual shape in the rooms.
Great light streamed in from the windows, and a spiral staircase made for a romantic location just above the restaurant.

This is a great place to stay with its cluster of working artists studios surrounding a restaurant and guest rooms.

The price--$110--was comparable to most chain hotels, but the whole experience was amazing. Everyone there was friendly and gave us a tour of all the studios and we watched the artists work.

We had dessert at the restaurant and met the chef/owner and was entertained by the singer/songwriter/waitress who played the guitar and sang.

The desserts were fabulous.

I highly recommend this place. Note: It's in a kind of a transitional neighborhood; so, lock your car doors. But within the gates of the B and B, everything's very safe, and they say they have never had any issues with their neighbors.

The only nitpick. You're kind of on your own for breakfast. They have juice, drinks in the fridge, coffee, and oatmeal and cereal. But, for a B&B I would have liked a bit more.
But, I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

Warmth, charm, and traditional B&B. The B&B are 4 rooms located within an arts school/studios and metal sculptures garden. The facility was historically an agricultural setting. All buildings have been remodeled as art studios, a fantastic art gallery, very interesting and eclectic metal scuptures in a garden with nice landscaping. The B&B rooms themselves are what you'd traditionally expect. Quaint, charming, cozy. Bed was ok; was not the Westin heavenly or anything. Side tables and shelves with old books was a very nice touch. Microwave, small fridge and TV were nice, although the kitchen is right next door and open all hours for you to raid the goodies in the fridge or make coffee/tea on a whim. Breakfast was rather "help-yourself" frozen wafles/muffins, but the fresh fruit, juices and coffee were very good. This place is a great break from the usual chain corporate hotels. Would highly recommend for the eclectic, artsy and genuine hospitality experience.

  • Liked — Quaintness, attention to detail, room ammenities
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Art Center

Address: 2503 Martin Luther King Blvd., San Angelo, TX 76903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Angelo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Angelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful, romantic seclusion greets you as you step through the front gate. The Inn is off the street and completely fenced providing security and privacy. Nestled among artists' studios, the Inn at the Art Center offers a touch of old Santa Fe. Vine covered patios, grape arbors, and informal private gardens whisk you away from the every day world. Each room, artfully decorated from the owners' collection, offers private bath and private entrances. A feeling of serenity pervades every aspect of a guest's stay. Escape from the stress, enjoy a relaxing romantic weekend, or take a workshop or class. Whatever your desire, your stay will be memorable. All rooms are non-smoking. Your Hosts, Jerry & Susan Warnell ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.