We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen it Before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Concho

Fort Concho
630 S. Oakes, San Angelo, TX 76903
325-481-2646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in San Angelo
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
Activities: Birdwatching
Attraction details
Dallas
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Seen it Before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is a good bonus to San Angelo. I understand it is the most original and complete fort in Texas. After visiting this fort I have a much better picture of the early construction.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic West Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a wonderfully preserved piece of west Texas history. You can choose to do a self guided tour or sign up for the guide. The buildings are in great shape and almost all are open. A must see for those stopping in San Angelo.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I didn't realize San Angelo had so much history. I enjoyed walking around the fort, and chatting with staff members. The area has been restored well, and I definitely recommend a visit to the fort. I have been recommended to come back at Christmas time, and I very well may take them up on it. Staff are in period dress, and it is a great thing to take the family to!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Depends on when you go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

For history buffs, Fort Concho will no doubt be a destination. It is interesting to see the old buildings and grounds. Some of the buildings have period furniture or at least appropriate replicas, but some of the buildings are empty. If you happen to be in San Angelo when there is an event at Fort Concho, that is the best time to go. Various festivals are held there throughout the year. Christmas at Fort Concho is, hands down, the best time to go. Lots of food, vendors, and activities, while simultaneously taking in a little piece of history.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for people who enjoy history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

When you walk through the buildings, you get a feel for what it must have been like for those serving in that day of age. Going in December is best when they hold "Christmas at Fort Concho".

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort Concho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Concho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.