We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Packsaddle Bar-B-Que

Packsaddle Bar-B-Que
6007 Knickerbocker Rd, San Angelo, TX 76904-7770
325-949-0616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 178 Restaurants in San Angelo
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
s
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Decided to see why all the cars were parked here, and was disappointed. Dry barbecue, that's about all I got.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My favorite BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've seen BBQ come and go but these guys are the most consistent place. Occasionally the brisket isn't as tender but that's a rare occasion. The service is always good and I never need to ask for anything.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Best BBQ in San Angelo. Brisket, Sausage, ribs--yum. Do not care for the chopped BBQ. Seems it is the chopped bad parts--very greasy and does not taste like the sliced. Ask for the sliced and get them to chop it.
Catfish--very good. Competes well with Catfish Corner.
French Fries -- very good home made fries.
Endless tea and drinks
Employees: nice and accommodating.
I go at least 5 times a month--during lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If you can only eat at one restaurant to flavor San Angelo, this is it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Being a Yankee, I don't actually like mesquite BBQ, but I take everyone here when they visit me. The cobblers and homemade icecream are the best in town. I get the chopped brisket and if you like catfish, they do it right as well. They even custom smoke meats so I could order Hickory smoked meats if I wanted. YUMMMMMY Plus, they are just such good, descent folks. I often take their family meals to other families and everyone appreciates it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“usually great brisket”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've eaten here once or twice a year for the last 6 years. I always order the brisket which is usually good. One time the brisket was terrible.....but you know, sometime that is how the cookie crumbles.....can't win 'em all. When there brisket is good, it is really the best in town....which 'aint saying a whole lot.....lol The fries are thin and greasy and the other dishes they serve look average.... nice friendly staff in a funky run down setting.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Packsaddle Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Packsaddle Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Packsaddle Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.