We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away unless you like to eat cockroaches!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gil's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gil's Restaurant
2502 Loop 306, San Angelo, TX
(325) 949-0830
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 162 Restaurants in San Angelo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
“Stay away unless you like to eat cockroaches!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went out to eat dinner on October 18-2012 everything looked good as usual, until my husband found an unexpected "topping" in his food, an alive cockroach crawling up his guacamole, eww so GROSS, I'm so glad he spotted the bug before started eating, but it was an instant appetite killer, I don't know about you, but I won't go back to that place again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north_alabama
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average Tex-Mex restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ate a very early dinner here, 3:30 PM, so place was very quiet. Ordered the Mexican dinner whcih consisted of a taco and some enchiladas, beans rice etc. Pretty much your standard Tex-Mex fare. Nothing outstanding but then nothing wrong either. I would eat here again if I was close by and in desire of Tex-Mex food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best chile relleno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I love Gil's for lunch, best chile relleno! Great quick service, low key and quiet, very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“tex mex....nothing to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I took a class of CDL truck drivers for a celebration lunch. The service was good and the food was average. Friendly and courteous staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great and inexpensive!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Try this one if you want great inexpensive Mexican food. The drinks are always cold.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gil's Restaurant also viewed

 
San Angelo, TX
 

Been to Gil's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gil's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.