We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've tried most of the items on the menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mesquite Bean Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mesquite Bean Cafe
36 E Twohig Ave, Ste 105, San Angelo, TX 76903-6496
325-617-2078
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 178 Restaurants in San Angelo
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Angelo, Texas
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I've tried most of the items on the menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Another home cooking style restaurant that's very common in San Angelo. I've had some thing I've liked but nothing that wow'd me. The least favority was the chili dog. I was really in the mood for a good chili dog but when it arrived with beans in the chili, my mood took a nose dive. Beans do not belong in any chili con carne served in Texas.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Like a Bad Dream”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My table of 4 arrived and ordered about 10 minutes sooner than 3 other tables, one of which had 7 people. We ordered two identical salads and two sandwiches, pretty simple. Our food arrived about 10 minutes after each of the 3 tables were chin-deep in their meals.

Portions were tiny.

Probably the worst part about this restaurant was the fact that there were dusty, old stuffed animals and fish on the wall that (I'm assuming) the owner hunted or caught. Got no problem with hunting or catching fish, but it's unappetizing when there are dusty, tattered animal skins hovering above your meal.

Wouldn't go back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice little downtown eatery.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

It is located in the historic Cactus Hotel. Wait staff is very nice. I was in for breakfast and the menu was very limited. Just burritos type offerings or biscuits and gravy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“catering and dining in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

catered my daughters wedding and the food was to die for! Beef dishes and chicken dishes that all of our guests raved about. You can't go wrong with this place. The dishes in the restaurant are wonderful.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stuff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been here 4-5 times and tried different things each time and have yet to be disappointed. Chicken strips surprised me at how yummy they were. The sandwiches I have had are all amazing.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesquite Bean Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mesquite Bean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesquite Bean Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.