We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy as heck!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   1601 S Bryant Blvd, San Angelo, TX 76903 8326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in San Angelo
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creepy as heck!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I show pigs and it was a last minute decision to take our stock to the San Angelo Livestock Show. This is a very large show and San Angelo is a smaller town, so as you can expect, there wasn't much availability in the nicer hotels that we would of originally tried to book with. So we checked into the America's Best Value Inn. When getting into town and heading for the barns we passed the area and realized how seedy it looked. It gave off this creepy vibe to me. Kind of a "No Country for Old Men'/Scarface feel. When I finally convinced my parent that this place was creepy, he slightly considered switching, so I called to see what their check out policy was. The phone rang and rang and rang. It was a late night at the barns and we got back around 11-12. I won't go into detail of the explicit language, but I am 90% sure there was a PROSTITUTE in the parking lot. This is where my story gets offensive and my racial-profiling ways are uncovered. As we walk to our room, there is a black guy standing outside our room speaking Spanish into an outdated cell phone. While I only speak a little bit of Spanish I was able to pick out the words dirty cuss words which made it all the more unsettling. Our room appeared clean-ish. The beds were horrifically uncomfortable, and the carpet was pretty sketch. The shower was TINY. And our window curtains wouldn't close, allowing me to view Joe's Italian Restaurant all night, just waiting for a panoramic shot of a Soprano's style shoot out. THIS PLACE IS SCARY, SKETCHY, CREEPY, DO NOT BOOK.

Room Tip: Park on the front side to avoid extra sketchies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Granted, we were just traveling through San Angelo on the way home from Colorada looking for an overnight stay, and we maintain low expectations for these 'sleep-overs' being budget-minded, but had I not pre-paid via a travel website the night before, I would have never stopped in. Dirty halls, no elevator, seedy folks in the parking lot with coolers just off work, hot hallways, I would not recommend this for a family. It appeared to be a motel where construction workers were being housed away from home during our Friday night stay.

My first hint should have been when the person checking us in stated that because we booked on-line, he could not give us a reciept. I'd need to get that from the on-line service. Not a big deal, as I didn't need a receipt, but I book 95% of our travel on-line, and am always handed a receipt at check-in. It was obvious he wasn't sure what he was doing behind the counter. The cockroach my wife found in the bathroom (still alive) the size of a silver dollar made few points for me as well and had my daughter gun-shy about going into the bathroom without my wife or me. And when I went to the office the next morning to get some coffee for my wife and I, in looking at the 'breakfast buffet', easily announced the decision to pack the car, as we were going elsewhere for breakfast (and I seldom pass on 'free' food).

Given the other local accomodations, I'd pass on this one...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, I have met with my staff, and went went over every item you mentioned and we have taken care of all of the issues. I hope that you stop by and see us again when in San Angelo, so that you may see that you had a great impact on my hotel with your concerns, because it our guests that help up to make things better.

Thnk You

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stepped on the carpet with white socks that immediately became black. No alarm clock in the room. Sink didn't drain. Light switch toggles very dirty. Room was basically dirty everywhere. Curtains were falling down. It is an old run down property. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. On the bright side it was cheap and the staff was very friendly. There is a very good Italian restaurant (Joe's) across the parking lot. I can do without the fancy amenities, but I can't enjoy a dirty room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubenreyes, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
I am very sorry about the issues you had and have taken care of the issues you mentioned. I hope that you return and give us the opertunity to prove that we value tru guest service.

Thank You

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my young children. We were in the room for maybe 10 minutes and their feet were black! It was DISGUSTING. I wouldn't let them off the bed, which left little to be desired, without their shoes on. Don't stay here. You get what you pay for. After seeing the cockroaches in the bathroom I wouldn't even attempt to try the breakfast. I will NOT be staying at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

This hotel was really dirty and in a seedy part of town. It was really inexpensive- but it made me realize that sometimes you get what you pay for. The breakfast was ok- but I did not feel safe. The beds were really small= but again it was very cheap.

  • Liked — very cheap
  • Disliked — scary location, dirty floor in room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2005

We evacuated for Hurricane Rita and we stayed at the Best Value Inn in SanAngelo, TX. The gentleman who runs the place was a huge help with anything and everything we needed. His staff was great as well. The rooms were clean and we had waffles every morning for breakfast! I give this place 10 stars and can't wait to go back and visit as soon as possible. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great deal!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1601 S Bryant Blvd, San Angelo, TX 76903 8326
Location: United States > Texas > San Angelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in San Angelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn San Angelo. We offer free hot full breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, free local calls. Each of our 80 nicely furnished, spacious guest rooms has a coffee pot, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, data port phone, 25" TV and the most comfortable king or queen bed. This two-story property has inside or outside corridor access, smoking or non-smoking rooms, ample truck parking, Internet Cafe fax or copy service and guest laundry, not to mention a very refreshing outdoor swimming pool and spa "Seasonal". We are located 15 minutes from Mathis Field in the heart of San Angelo close to several golf courses, Sunset Mall, movie theaters, Three Lakes, Fort Concho, San Angelo State University, San Angelo's Fine Art Museums and not far from the downtown antique shops. Take a walk along Concho River, roller blade or skate at the local skate park, watch the San Angelo Colts play ball at Foster Stadium, get rowdy with the San Angelo Saints or hoot and holler at any of the annual roping or rodeo events held at the San Angelo Coliseum. What ever your reason for visiting San Angelo, stay with the Best& Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.