We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4649 W Houston Harte Expressway, San Angelo, TX 76901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in San Angelo
Sulphur, Louisiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Smallest room of all hotels during this 22 day trip. Bathroom extremely small. Breakfast was mediocre. Shower curtain beginning to mold. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    79
    56
    29
    15
See reviews for
102
32
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Microtel in San Angelo on the first night of a week-long vacation. The location is very easy to get to (located right along a highway), in an area that looks very safe. It was very quiet, and the bed was very comfortable, and we slept quite well. As mentioned in some other reviews, the rooms are small, perhaps half the size of many other hotel rooms I have stayed in. Yet in spite of the compact size, the room contained all the essentials. The designers of the room did not waste a square inch. There was a flat-screen TB, a microwave and refrigerator, an iron and ironing board, a hair dryer in the bathroom, a coffee maker, a desk area with a chair and free Wi-Fi access, some rod space, and a couple of drawers. There was a sort of shelf with cushions just under the windowsill. We placed our suitcases there as there was very little other place to put them. The breakfast in the morning was typical for this class of hotel. There was also a free guest laundry, which impressed me as being a nice perk, as usually they are coin operated. Everything looked very clean and well-maintained. About the only things missing were recreational facilities, as there was no pool and no exercise room. All in all, it was a great value for the price, and if you don't require a palatial suite for your stay, by all means consider the Microtel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed June 24-25, 2011

Wasn't sure on what to expect from this hotel as I had never been in this chain, but all the reviews read great online, especially compared to the other hotels in San Angelo. The price was inexpensive especially since you get a complimentary breakfast.

I'm very particular about where I stay, because i have been to horrible hotels before but it was such a blessing to stay here. Our room was on the 3rd floor, 2 double beds and was just amazing! The rooms were very clean and elegant, the beds/pillows were to die for. My friend kept saying "i wonder what brand of pillows these are, I want to buy them." lol it was funny, but I'm not joking, the bed was so comfy-guessing a pillowtop mattress! we slept like babies! I thought the hotel was going to be crowded as there was 2 big events going on that weekend, but we didn't see the crowd until the early morning or evening (guess everyone was up early to get going and then coming in late after the events were done).

The Continental Breakfast was good, they had bagels, muffins, 3 types of cereal, toast, waffles, coffee, milk, orange & apple juice. I will DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN! I loved it!

The only small compliant I had was with the staff, they were very nice but when we checked in they didn't give the usual "hotel run-down" like "you room is on the _ floor, breakfast is at __ time, and check out time is __" but they did assist us very promptly when we needed it. thanks. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is just your basic hotel. The room and hotel was clean and the staff was helpful. The room was a bit small and the free continental breakfast was not much to talk about.
Just an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Having read previous reviews, I tried other places before Microtel when passing through San Angelo, but everything was booked or did not have an accessible room. We found the staff accommodating, helpful and the room small but well appointed and clean.

Some plusses: Although the hotel was busy and the area noisy, the rooms were very quiet; laundry facilites and nice lounge area for guests to use (a plus since rooms are very small.

On the down side: Micro means small rooms, but also means they only provide the basics, i.e., only; shampoo (not conditioner or lotion). But, we also had a problem getting an accessible room. We requested it and were told we were given it, but our room was not accessible. Since we arrived late and it was a hassle to relocate someone with mobility limitations, we did not ask to be moved.

Aside from these issues, we were pleased and felt is was a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I was scheduled to stay at the Microtel in San Angelo. Someone else booked my reservations online and checked the box where it indicated that I needed a handicap room. When we go there the desk receptionsist told us that there were no handicap rooms available. She was very rude and unwilling to make other arrangements. Microtel had given my handicap room to a non-disabled person. I will never stay at Microtel and will spread the word! Their staff is unkind to people who are disabled and give out handicap rooms to non-disabled people just so they can make a buck!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty00411, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We very much appreciate all of our guests and are more than willing to accomodate any need they may have. All requests for assessible rooms are honored when the reservation directly specifies the need for that particular room type; and those rooms are sold last. The before mentioned night our hotel was sold out with all accessible rooms already occupied. Unfortunately the guest was under the assumption that we had given his accessible room to someone not deserving of it and we had made changes to his reservation. This is not true because the reservation was made through a 3rd party channel in which changes or modifications can not be made. The guest was assigned the room type his reservation specified. If we could have made changes and accomodated him, we most definately would have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very clean, great staff. We are used to a king sized bed. Very small room. (micro) Small desk like area underneath TV. Couch like area above air conditioner. NO TOILET SEAT LID! Breakfast - cereal, bran or blueberry muffins, oranges, apples, instant oatmeal or grits. No yogurt or waffles or bananas. Sign in room says complimentary toiletries but when we asked for toothpaste it was $1.47. They are very concerned about making sure everything is okay, but just a little too small for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo

Address: 4649 W Houston Harte Expressway, San Angelo, TX 76901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Angelo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in San Angelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo hotel! Our pet-friendly hotel near San Angelo State Park is located in beautiful Tom Green County, with easy access to U.S. Route 67. Start your morning off right with our complimentary full breakfast featuring fluffy scrambled eggs, cheesy omelets, crisp bacon, delectable sausage links, and a delicious assortment of pastries. Check email or look up local attractions from the comfort of your room with our free high-speed Internet access. Each room in our San Angelo hotel comes equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, coffee maker, blow-dryer, and 32-inch flat-screen TV. We also have a complimentary laundry facility on-site for your use. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Groupon, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites San Angelo
Microtel Inn & Suites San Angelo Hotel San Angelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.