We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing Its Age” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 S. Stagecoach Drive, Salado, TX 76571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Showing Its Age”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

If you like quaint, dated properties, then this is the place to be. The property is a series of freestanding buildings reminiscent of 50s and 60s motel properties: circular drive in front leading to the lobby, pool in the center of the property, restaurant in back. Most of the rooms have had some updates: granite countertops in the bathrooms, new fixtures, etc. The property is generally quiet, but situated right on the busy freeway. The bed in my room sagged big time, the shower sprayed water in every direction and the television was very (VERY) small. Room rates are high compared to the competition (all newer, more modern properties). I attend an annual event at this hotel and have stayed there about 10 times. The staff is functional; I wouldn't call them "friendly". The hotel's reservation system is very dated and lost reservations are a common occurrence. Be sure you have a written confirmation of your reservation, and follow up prior to arrival, even if you book through a hotel room broker site. (This hotel has "lost" every reservation I have ever made there--all 10 of them.) If you like quaint, and you're willing to put up with all the hassles while paying top dollar, then go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, farthest from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    18
    12
    19
See reviews for
19
20
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was once a great place to stay. Older hotel that was kept in pristine condition, but not any more. Been coming here yearly for over 20 years and it has gone way down this year!
Hot Tub: Not working, looked gross like it hadn't worked in months
Room: Carpet ripped and badly repaired, small 20+ year old TV, Complimentary hand soap was absolutely the worst I have ever used! Stationary-gone, coffee in hotel room-yuck! Cheaper bed coverings with hard mattress. And NO extra, not even one, roll of toilet paper!! Can you spell Stranded?
Stagecoach Restaurant: Menu has been scaled done and prices went up! Fried Chicken and
CFS is $19.95! We had 12 people at our table and one small bowl of hushpuppies for all. The rolls and cornbread that used to come out with the meal is now one piece of mini cornbread with your meal. It seems like small petty changes - but they add up. They are penny-pinching but want guests to pay top dollar.
Salado the town is in general very disappointing
Shopping: The small mom & pop shops took a huge hit with the economy and really haven't recovered. Most of the shops had VERY high prices in general. Yes, I am talking $160 for a shirt!
Overall. It is not as special as it once was for a weekend getaway.
If you are just passing through for a one nighter, it's just as nice as any other MOTEL.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra room rate to be by the hot tub that doesn't work. Just keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We got a deal on this hotel through a travel site, but in spite of updates, it isn't quite a 3-star hotel. The rooms were nice and clean and quite spacious. The restaurant was good, but a little slow. The hotel is spread out so you may have to walk across grounds to get to the conference center and restaurant depending on where your room is located. No major complaints, a decent, no frills hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corinth, texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My friend & I met at the Stagecoach Inn with some reservation because of on-line reviews. However, wanting to stay & shop in Salado we decided to try it anyway. Although it is an older motel we found our room spacious, comfortable, quiet, and clean. We had a view of the pool from our window/balcony and it was obvious that repairs were being done to the overhead shade. I would not hesitate to stay here again. We greatly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Upon first appearance I wasn't sure what was in store for my stay at the Stagecoach Inn. The building's exterior is quite dated as well as the lobby. However, I was pleased to find that the foyer and bathrooms and been recently renovated with tile and granite. The room on the other hand still needs a renovation. The room had all pine furniture and the sheets and comforter were very poor quality. The TV in the room was a 27 in. tube tv. Wow! I felt like I could barely see it from the bed. The free Wifi worked well and I never had any problems connecting. Overall, the stay was nice and the hotel is located in great proximity to nearby shops and river.

The conference center is a nice large room equipped with a projectors and tables that encourage dialogue among attendees. Stagecoach staff served a continental breakfast here was good the first day but when reserved the next day was pretty stale. The staff kept plenty of coffee and tea stocked while the conference was going on.

I would stay here again. The scenery is nice and quiet just like the town. The best thing about the room was the balcony overlooking the giant oak trees and pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room by the pool. These rooms have free Wifi and the foyers and bathrooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We have been here several times over the last 20 years, but this was the best experience. We stayed in a room by the pool that had a king size bed. The room had a table and a small desk. It had been remodeled and was very clean.
The staff was excellent. They turned on the hot tub and gave it a cleaning while I was taking a walk even though I was the only one using it. Everyone that we dealt with was pleasant and helpful.
We ate at the Cafe diner on the property for breakfast 2 times. It is a local hangout and the food/service was excellent.
The only problem we had was with the WiFi it did not work very well the first night and was a slower than what we are use at home.
The hotel is within walking distance of most of Salado's attractions. This was our best experience at the hotel in several years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We returned to the Stagecoach Inn after several years and were very disappointed in our visit. When we arrived to register, the tattooed, pierced young man in a tee shirt at the front desk acted like we had woken him from his nap. We asked him about the dining room hours and he said he didn't know. Our room was a huge disappointment. It looked like a cheap motel, badly in need of restoration. The bathroom sink looked like someone had shaved and then wiped the sink with a paper towel. There was one tiny bar of soap and no glasses in either the bathroom or in the room. The only redeeming virtue of the room was that it did have new sheets on the bed and new linens in the bathroom. We checked in on Sunday night and when we walked over to the coffee shop for breakfast on Monday morning, we discovered that the coffee shop is closed on Monday and Tuesday. The desk clerk failed to tell us that little fact. So we went back to our room, packed up and checked out. We found a wonderful little bakery/cafe on Main St. and had a lovely breakfast. We are so sad that the Stagecoach Inn has become so run down. We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center

Address: 401 S. Stagecoach Drive, Salado, TX 76571
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located right off exit 284 off I-35, just minutes away from the Bell County Expo Center, Killeen-Fort Hood International Airport, Scott and White, and Fort Hood. If shopping is your pleasure, the antiques, fine art, jewelry and shopping will keep you busy while in our Village.Our conference center offers over 5000 square feet of meeting space. We offer full service catering menu along with audio visual for all your meeting needs. Wireless Internet is available for our guest while they stay at our Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Inn Motel And Conference Center
Stagecoach Inn Hotel Salado
Stagecoach Hotel Salado
Stagecoach Motel Salado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stagecoach Inn Motel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.