We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1991 N Stagecoach Rd, IH - 35 North, Salado, TX 76561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Waco
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The staff members were great. We had one minor problem, and within literally two minutes, the person who answered the phone, Mary, came to the room to see what the problem was, went back to the desk, and had the situation corrected. She was very professional and efficient throughout our two-day stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    13
    5
    14
See reviews for
30
19
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I have stayed here a couple of times in the last year and it is nice. However, the first time I stayed here the price was reasonable, but the second time it really escalated. .The first time it was $80.00 and the second it was $122.00 I am sure it was because we made our reservations the same day, but that reeks of a lack of integrity. I am a Priority Club member, but this makes me want to rethink that.

The place is very clean and beds are comfortable, breakfast is okay, front desk service was slow on checkout. Parking area was a little dark and hard to get into at night. Internet service was a little slow.

All in all a nice, clean place to stay, but it is not worth $122, but is it worth $80.00.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I travel and stay for 13 weeks at a time and it will never be in a holiday inn express again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Every year my husband and I make our way to Salado on the weekend before Christmas. It is our treat to ourselves! We have an opportunity to spend time with each other, relax from the exhausting fall (hubby is a high school band director and I teach Kindergarten!), and prepare ourselves spiritually and mentally for the holidays. It is a perfect get-a-way!

I am in a wheelchair and need a room with wheelchair amenities - pull bars, roll in shower, and space for wheelchairs, walkers, luggage, etc. When we called four years ago about staying here, we were told which room would accomodate us the best. And they were correct - - our stay was wonderful. As we were checking out, the young lady suggested that we write down the room number for future use and that we call the first weekend in November to reserve our room each year. This is what we have done the last two years and this year. Our reservations are all made and we already know which room we will be in and its configuration.

This room is on the first floor close to the dining area. As far as other reviews about the "noise" -- we have never been kept awake, awaken, or been disturbed by noise. If other reviewers are so disturbed by "noise", I would suggest cotton for their ears, ear plugs, or another hotel! They are obviously not suited for this quiet, comfortable hotel!

As to the staff, we have ALWAYS found them to be overly kind, courteous, and accomodating. We always check on us as we go in and out of the hotel as to our comfort, needs in finding things in the town, and if we are in need of anything in our room. They usually call us by name and make us feel very welcome and at home.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who like a quiet place for a get-a-way. We have also started staying here during the summer when we are in the area!

Thanks to everyone for making our stay so easy and wonderful!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
It is with tremendous joy that I read your most gracious remarks regarding our cherished employees, who take immense pride in pleasing our valued guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We were with a Group of golfers. Reservations made well ahead of stay. We were assured that the rooms would be available to the golfers until after the tournament so the men could shower before check out. We were locked out of our rooms and after calling the front desk were told it was "company policy" to either charge for another day or vacate the rooms at once. We had about 20+ in our group. The women had to sit in the lobby until our husbands returned from the tournament with our luggage, etc.
When the golfers returned the men had to leave with showering. This gets better & better. I left behind my cell phone charger. They promised to mail it. Waited ten days and called back. Spoke to the only civil employee we encountered during the entire stay.
Received the charger the following week only to find out they charged my acc't $29.99. Called again and was told tthat $24.30 of that charge was for "shipping & handling" by the hotel. The postage fee was $5.95. Terrible place, terrible attitude. THE ONLY EMPLOYEE WE ENCOUNTERED THAT WAS HELPFUL AND PERFORMED WAS A YOUNG WOMAN NAMED DIXIE. We would sleep in our car before we'd stay there again.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
We are sorry to hear about your inconvenience, and appreciate your comments here. We are happy that you have spoken up so that we may better our property. We will be working diligently to make your stays much more enjoyable in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Sunny wouldn't allow us to cancel room at no charge the morning of the stay. Said it was against policy but policy wasn't mentioned. Sunny (not as in pleasant) said being a priority member didn't make a difference.
Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, AL
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Stayed on the 3rd floor for 5 days.
1. Hallway was constantly dirty during my 5 day stay. It had not been cleaned and I know this because there was a piece of paper that had the word PINK on it and it was in the same spot the whole time and in plain visible sight. Along with dirt and dried mud from shoes.
2. Also one of the days a maid handed me some clean towels I told her they were still wet and asked if they had any dry ones. She shrugged her shoulders and shook her head.
3. If you asked one of the employees a question other than the ones that worked at the desk they acted as though they did not understand you.
4. In one of the stairwells there was a Dairy Queen box left on the floor and it still had food in it.
It is a nice hotel but management needs to be more in-tune with what their employees are or are not doing. The management needs to visit every floor, hallway, and stairwells twice a day to make sure that they have the cleanest hotel possible.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
You will be happy to know that, as a result of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented the following changes with the cleanliness and our housekeeping services.
We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton

Address: 1991 N Stagecoach Rd, IH - 35 North, Salado, TX 76561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Salado-Belton is conveniently located off of Interstate 35. This rural, smoke-free hotel property is a quality, practical choice when traveling through Central Texas. Lodging at our location puts you in a close proximity to the communities of Salado, Belton, Temple, Harker Heights, and Killeen. Salado-Belton, is a constantly growing area and home to many historic attractions, businesses, universities, and outdoor fun. Some of which include the Bell County Expo Center, Wildfire Ranch Arena, Fort Hood Army Base, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, Texas A&M- Central University, and the beautiful Lake Belton and Stillhouse Hollow Lakes. The Village of Salado was once a part of the old Chisholm Trail and is now known for its antique stores, boutique shops, and colorful history. Whether you're visiting for business or leisure, our hotel will meet your needs. You can expect a good night's rest in our cozy triple-sheeted beds and then start each day with a cinnamon roll from our complimentary hot breakfast bar. The fitness center and customized outdoor pool area will help you relax during your stay. As if this weren't enough, we also offer a 24 hour business center, five meeting spaces with accommodations for up to 100 guests, free Wi-Fi, and audio/visual equipment to ensure that your next event is a success in Central Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salado Hotel Salado
Holiday Inn Salado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salado-Belton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.