We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering
101 North Main Street, Salado, TX 76571
254-947-3828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Salado
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: The Range is an Elegant eatery offering some of the finest dining in Texas. Utilizing fresh local ingredients. Our culinary team creates and serves delicious, adventurous food. Attention to detail is the cornerstone of our service and food quality. Allow our team to welcome you as our guest.
Killeen, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“False start”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

Went to a company sponsored dinner on 13 Dec 14, upon arrival parking was full, no place to park and no Valet parking. Ended parking literally on the front door. Moved to dining area where we requested drinks and asked for a Bacardi & Coke, was told by the server that they did not carry Bacardi rum. Really? Ended drinking Cuzo or something. Dinner was good, decent service and great coffee and desert. But again, a restaurant of this category with no Valet or Bacardi available left me disappointed.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rough start, but good finish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Dinner with a friend. Service was problematic at first. (No server, other tables seated after we were seated had wait staff long before we were. Food was good (quail, pasta with very tended shredded beef. Mgr comped desert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My husband and I had our anniversary dinner recently at The Range. Our server was knowledgable, attentive, and personable. Our water glasses were kept full during the meal. Our food was delicious and such large portions that we each brought home leftovers. For a special meal, I highly recommend this restaurant. As a bit of trivia, this restaurant catered the rehearsal dinner for Jenna Bush and her husband.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear S C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback and will share it with our team immediately. Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us, we will look forward to serving you in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant Casual Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Gourmet offerings. Good service, little slow but once underway, perfect. I had a selection of appetizers all very good and generous portions.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Dear RandyCaton,

Thank you first of all for choosing to dine with us at The Range. Your business is very much appreciated. Second, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We will work to improve our speed of service. Thank you again, we will look forward to serving you again in the future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The food is always great, as well as, the service. The downstairs is nice for a romantic evening. Good wine list.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear mgk0707,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your kind words and support. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at The Range and you felt strongly enough to leave us a 5 star review. We very much look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering also viewed

 

Been to The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.