We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special memories here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering

The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering
101 North Main Street, Salado, TX 76571
254-947-3828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 29 restaurants in Salado
Price range: $14 - $35
Cuisines: American, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Description: The Range is an Elegant eatery offering some of the finest dining in Texas. Utilizing fresh local ingredients. Our culinary team creates and serves delicious, adventurous food. Attention to detail is the cornerstone of our service and food quality. Allow our team to welcome you as our guest.
Salado, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special memories here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were having dinner here one night and just before dessert my fiance proposed to me. I cried and said yes, the excited staff brought us champagne, it was a beautiful evening! The food was great, we know the owner and he is a super person and the staff are all amazing. Try it out when you are in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Tricia,
Fantastic! Thank you for sharing your proposal story here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to know that our staff shared in your excitement and brought out Champagne to celebrate. Thank you again for your kind words, we will certainly look forward to serving you and your fiance again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    38
    13
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorena
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is overpriced and ambience so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was okay but not worth the price. The portions were small and presentation was not very good. My wife had scallops that smelled fishy when served. My filet was okay, not great. It had a parsley/basil sauce and you should not have to cover a filet with a sauce.
The service was good. Our server was helpful, prompt, and attentive. The hostess was friendly as were the other staff we encountered. The restaurant was a quiet place conducive to conversation. There weren't many people in the place but at least there was no background music and poor acoustics that enhance noise and other conversations.
The lounge upstairs looked shabby for a restaurant that is supposed to be upscale. It reminded me of lounges in third-tier hotels and budget motels. The bartender gave good service. It was also hot in the bar. The lounge is upstairs and you have to be able to negotiate the stairs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“May 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Food was good. We didn't have a reservation and didn't know we needed one. Hostess was very snobby and kept us waiting at least 30 minutes before we were seated which made no sense because I could see the dining room were not full at all. Then she proceeded to stick us on a very narrow table for two shoved up against the wall. We said no and we got the table for two at the window across the room. Food was very good but their service stinks!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Leslie B,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are shocked to learn of anyone on our team being "snobby" and will be addressing this tonight with our entire staff. We understand that sometimes there is a wait time for seating and apologize for the inconvenience this causes. Often times it appears that a table should be able to be utilized immediately. As we are a multilevel restaurant we often times have other groups throughout the restaurant ordering and being served from other dining rooms and seating additional guests in a timely manner is a priority and bit of a balancing act to ensure quality service throughout your meal. I assure you our goal is to provide exceptional food, coupled with attentive and thoughtful service. Again, we appreciate your comments and taking the time to let us know your concerns. We will work to address your concerns and improve our systems for seating and service in an effort to exceed expectations.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never Let Us Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have dined at The Range for special occasions, business dinners, and to treat ourselves to a night out locally. We are NEVER disappointed. The staff is friendly, professional and top notch. The food is always delicious. I can recommend The Range without hesitation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
AuntZan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate your kind words. We are encouraged to know that your experiences warrant your recommendation. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacios, Texas
2 reviews
“happyfamily2009”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was great and the place was beautiful. Service was great. The waiter was very nice and the food was served in plenty of time. The drinks were very good also.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave_therange, Owner at The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear happyfamily12009,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback and review for us with the TripAdvisor Community. We will certainly look forward to serving you again soon.
Respectfully,
Dave Hermann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering also viewed

 

Been to The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Range at The Barton House, Restaurant & Full Service Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.