We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Creek to your Saves list
Inn on the Creek
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   602 Center Circle, Salado, TX 76571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Salado B&B and Inns
Austin, texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our anniversary at Inn on the Creek in Salado. For years, we have enjoyed staying in B&B's while traveling all over the country as well as in Europe. I must say that the Inn on the Creek ranks among the nicest ever! We were warmly greeted and given a tour of the facilities before moving into the McKie room, the largest room in the main house. It was absolutely beautiful with antiques and a lovely view of the grounds and the creek. Very comfortable, very quiet, and very private!
The breakfast was delicious with impeccable service, and after that, sitting in a double rocker, overlooking the creek with a resident cat in our laps made this experience even more welcoming.
While the bar at Alexander's was fantastic, the dinner service and meal were the only negative that we experienced. I will absolutely stay at the Inn on the Creek again, but I will investigate other dinner options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been staying at the inn for many years and every year they just get better. The restaurant now called Alexander's is so good. We had the New Years eve dinner and it was outstanding. We would recommend anyone looking for a great place to stay and dine to visit the Inn on the Creek and Alexander's.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Morgan, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband, 1 year old son, and I loved the Inn on the Creek. Will was wonderfully helpful and made us feel so welcome. We stayed for 5 nights to enjoy the Austin F1 race. The drive was exactly 1 hour and really very easy. The grounds were relaxing and watching my husband and son swing on the hammock will be a lasting memory. The room was lovely as well. We will be making this a yearly tradition.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first time stay at the Inn. Will, the host and innkeeper, was most helpful. The Christmas Stroll in Salado, the Manor (Inn), the creek, the setting, the breakfast...EVERYTHING! was memorable and wonderful. The staff at the Inn helped to make this a perfect getaway! If you, the reader, are only mulling over the idea of, perhaps, staying at the Inn...do it! You will not regret it! Make the reservation and let the folks at the Inn do the rest. To the folks at the Inn: Thank You for everything! We are now hooked, so we booked (for next year!). Maybe we will see you all before then! (Yes, it was that memorable of a stay!)

Room Tip: The rooms at the Manor are more Victorian in style, and they are next door to the restaurant and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed in this establishment for one night recently. The first thing which strikes you is the town of Saledo itself on the drive to the Inn. Saledo is a place with many art and craft type shops just made for a days wandering around them all. The first thing which strikes you on reaching the Inn is how quaint it looks. After a few days travelling and staying in 'corporate' style hotels to come to such a place makes a nice change.

Other reviews have mentioned the host Will, and all have praised him. We can add nothing else to this other than agree that in every way he is the perfect host.

The rooms in the Inn are actually spread out over two buildings, one just across the street from the main house. All are individual in style, with the one drawback that they are quite small. The room rates for the Inn are comparable to that of larger hotels and for the price we would have expected a bit more room and comfort. The Inn is quite close to the interstate and as it was a cool night we turned off the air conditioning unit. The result was that we heard a lot of noise from the interstate all night.

The Inn is equipped with hammocks in its grounds which is a perfect way to spend some time, and also has a hot tub, and rocking chairs on the porch. It also has a very small gym.

The restaurant food can only be described as fabulous. We had a great meal there and met the chef afterwards. We were staggered at how young he is. He has a great future. Breakfast the next day was also very nice.

So all in all a good place to spend a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We really enjoyed the feel of the traditional Victorian B&B with all of the modern amenities. The food at the on-site restaurant was wonderfiul fine dining. We are in our early 30's and LOVED it. Going back again this weekend.

Room Tip: We think the rooms not located in the main house are better. They don't have a pool but have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a wonderful, lovely spot which feels just like home. Will is the consummate host and every detail has been thought of. What I love about it is that everything is comfortable, clean and cozy and you really feel that the owners care about you and want you to enjoy your stay. I have been here three times now and have enjoyed it so much each time. The food also is superb, both for breakfast and for dinner and the atmosphere is just lovely (sitting areas, porch, beautiful grounds and creek, and neighborhood). In my opinion this is the best place to stay in Salado.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Creek

Address: 602 Center Circle, Salado, TX 76571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on the Creek is the most full-service, boutique lodging property in Salado. With two on-site restaurants, beautifully manicured creekside grounds (complete with hammocks) and striking views of the creek from the fitness room and hot tub - our ambiance is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.