We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on the Creek to your Saves list
Inn on the Creek
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   602 Center Circle, Salado, TX 76571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Salado B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I recently revisited the romantic location of our marriage, some 10 years earlier. We had the "fine dining" experience for New Year's Eve and it was truly "fine"! A 4 course meal with good wines all the way along! And the accommodations? Also fabulous, of course! If you're in Central Texas with a weekend to spare, you've got to try the Inn on the Creek in Salado!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was an excellent choice for our little getaway trip. Will and his staff are amazing! Our expectations were surpassed. The chef is exceptional. We pre-ordered a picnic basket, but this was so much more with great ambiance set near the creek side. We have our neighbor to thank for this wonderful and relaxing atmosphere for giving us the name of this B&B. The sheets are so luxurious that we will be ordering them for Christmas. We will definitely be back and I have let many of my friends know already what a wonderful time we had here.

Thank you, B&W, Keller, TX

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fowler room which overlooked the hammocks and you could see the creek. In the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The place is really pretty, love old houses that have been turned into B&B and they certainly spared no expense here. 130 year old homes, one is the main house, the other is the restaurant, and finally the one we stayed in is a two story home that was divided into several rooms. So quaint and so perfect for the village of Salado - a true artist colony. The Inn is decorated with local artists' paintings and glass work, beuatiful antiques, and is the perfect getaway from busy city life.
Can't say enough about Will! My son and I fell in love with him at first sight :) he is so nice and welcoming, and so accomodating our every wish, that I really can't wait to go back. The first thing that made me feel comfortable was even before we arrived: the confirmation email he sent, asking us a little about the reason for our visit, and how can they make it better, and then he replied and made some really good suggestions!
Even though the DFW metroplex suffered triple digits heat and humidity, Salado thankfully felt a lot cooler, and thanks to the fans and tons of shade we were able to sit on the porch and relax even in the middle of the day.
The food at Alexander's was good, and reasonablly priced. The bed was comfortable, the TV was easy to operate, the hot tub was great at midnight (you can use it at all hours of the day and night because it is away from the sleeping quarters) the view is fantastic (Salado creek), the music and light on the trees were a perfect companion to a cold drink on the porch and the hammocks were so inviting (but a little low to the ground...).
Went to Adeleade for lunch, didn't get a chance to go to Roy T's bakery, breakfast at the inn (included in the price) was good and beautifully presented (we had the baked omelet). Salado felt so safe to us that we walked back to the Inn at 1:00am after going to Salado Creek (Springhill?) restaurant - they have a bar, serve burgers and tacos, but they had a great band (every Friday and Saturday night).
Wish they had a pool, that would make it perfect...Oh, and they have a really nice gym!

Room Tip: Book rooms in the middle of the week. We stayed at the Aiken and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Although we had been to The Inn several times and found it wonderful each time, we had not planned to be there in June. But another trip - an important birthday celebratory trip - had to be cancelled at the last minute due to a broken ankle. My first thought was - We can go to The Inn, and they will take care of us there, even if being immobile is the only option. We were treated royally! I know you don't do room service, but in this instance you made sure we had wonderful meals and anything else we needed in our room and on our porch until we could both make it to the restaurant. You transformed what could have been an awful week into a time of rest and healing... and did it all with care and kind attention. Thank you, Will. We'll never forget this week. And we'll be back for more of your famous hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Inn. Fabulous breakfast, beautiful presentation , antique filled with various rooms both upstairs and down. We stayed in Rose room which is a queen downstairs. 5 star luxury. We loved Tony who was taking care of the Inn while the Innkeepers were away ... We enjoyed the jacuzzi under a beautiful patio facing the creek under the moonlight and romantic music . The place is under a little
Construction and was affected by several floods . We also arrived on Sunday and Monday so both the restaurant and cocktail lounge upstairs that is newly
Added were closed. We felt extremely pampered and will be back here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

I have been visiting Inn on the Creek more than 15 years running. When I learned it was under new management on my previous visit, I was concerned it wouldn't be the same...boy was I right! I had always enjoyed my visits with the previous owners, but Will is nothing short of fabulous. He makes you feel right at home and gives the impression you are his ONLY guest. He takes time to welcome and walk you through this beautiful property full of more amenities than ANY B&B I've ever frequented. The rooms are in pristine condition with no detail overlooked. The hammocks on the grounds and the rockers on the beautiful porches offer a serene retreat from the bussle of everyday life. The hot tub is private and relaxing. I didn't have an opportunity to enjoy the gym, but I'll be better prepared next time. Breakfast is always a treat with seasonal fruits, gourmet coffee and foods that will delight the most distinguished pallet. I can never get enough of the coffee! The Keurig machines in the rooms were also a nice new touch to my visit. I can't rave enough about Will and his fabulous supporting staff...you will not find better accommodations anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

We loved the Inn on the Creek in Salado, TX. From the attentive and personable staff to the tasty breakfast, it is a place I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Creek

Address: 602 Center Circle, Salado, TX 76571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Salado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Salado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn on the Creek is the most full-service, boutique lodging property in Salado. With two on-site restaurants, beautifully manicured creekside grounds (complete with hammocks) and striking views of the creek from the fitness room and hot tub - our ambiance is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on the Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on the Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.