We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home-style cooking, hospitality, and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Restaurant

Oaks Restaurant
5507 S State Highway 237, Round Top, TX 78954
(979) 249-5909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Round Top
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home-style cooking, hospitality, and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nestled along Hwy 237 just north of La Grange under a vast canopy of towering shade trees (presumably oaks) is a great roadtrip find: Oaks Restaurant. The menu is the usual selection of sandwiches, salads, and burgers, along w/ some old standby entrees like chicken fried steak and fried shrimp. We were on a lunch visit while riding the motorcycles. The place is biker-friendly, has plenty of parking, an outside covered deck, and a wonderful picturesque view of the shady property on which it sits. The chicken and dumplings (soup of the day) was tasty, along w/ the grilled chicken sandwich. A friend got the chicken tender basket and was giving away food since the portion was so generous. There is a small salad bar which covers the basics plus some extras. Although we didn't have any dessert, the dessert offerings looked yummy and provided a nice selection. Our server was very friendly and attentive. We were made to feel at home right away, and left knowing that we would definitely be coming back -- and telling friends about our great experience too! Note: No credit cards accepted and open Thursday through Sunday only.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Reminds me of home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Oaks is a great home cooked country restaurant. It's nothing fancy but well worth the trip out of the city for this farm girl.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fabulous country cafe in the middle of central Texas paradise. Come and experience the awesome baby back ribs, terrific fresh greens salads, burgers to die for, the all you can eat boiled shrimp and fried fish specials. The folks are friendly, the beer is cold, and they have a very nice wine selection. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern VA, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Oaks Restaurant Friendly and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Oaks is found just south of Warrenton nestled among huge live Oak trees. Food here is always fresh and good, There is a ls mall menu of the 'regular' items but they run two or three specials each day. On their regular menu, the ribs are excellent. The meatloaf is a a good choice as well as the chicken fried steak. Their specials are always a good choice and are usually a bit...well, special. Soup is made daily and has always satisifed.Seating is a bit limited, it is airconditioned inside and there is a large deck for outside seating. They do not take reservations and do not take credit cards. Staff is freindly and fun and you soon become part of the family if you choose. They run extended hours during the Round-Top Antique fair and I have included at least a couple nights at the restaurant each time I attend the fair. A good choice!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Top, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a 'home cooked' meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Love what Laurie and Dan do with the food- from shrimp to burgers to a great chicken salad with cranberries, nuts and blue cheese, and of course, the all you can eat specials on Friday and Sunday. Our fav place on Sunday afternoon when we run into all our neighbors!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oaks Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oaks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.