We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle of Round Top

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Round Top
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle of Round Top
Save
You added Belle of Round Top to your Saves list
230 Days End Ln, Round Top, TX 78954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Round Top B&B and Inns
College Station, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peace!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The minute you step into the Belle, a feeling of peace and welcoming washes over you. Sit on the balcony with a bottle of wine and watch the stars and lights of planes far away (that you can't hear, incidentally) and listen to the frogs. There is nothing more calming. The town of Round Top is so funky and fun and the breakfast at the Belle is outstanding. We try to make it at least twice a year and always feel refreshed and content when we leave!

Room Tip: We love the second floor of the main house, but the new carriage house looks awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We love to stay at B&Bs. We loved the look of this property and decided to try it. We have been back again and again. We love the owners, the food and the ambiance. We have met so many wonderful regulars there during our Round Top Antique Festival visits and other Round Top events. Give it a try. I'm sure you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a romantic rural retreat in between Austin and San Antonio, and the antebellum beauty of Belle of Roundtop caught our eye. First off, the town of Roundtop is one of those great hidden gems -- off the beaten path, but filled with unique art galleries like The Copper Shade, great little down-home restaurants, and breathtaking cultural treasures like Festival Hall. Belle is just a two-minute drive from the tiny town center, a shimmering, two-story mansion set in the middle of a meadow that's alive with butterflies and wildflowers, even at this time of year. We especially loved the wraparound porch, the wicker rockers that invite you to linger with your morning coffee or gaze at the stars at night. We stayed in the spacious downstairs suite with its soaring ceiling, thick brocade drapes (great for darkness and quiet!) and a king-size "Comfort" bed (which allows you to electronically select the firmness of your side of the bed -- a real treat). But the best thing about Belle is the hostess, Debbie, and her husband, Doug. While Debbie served up a breakfast of sweet-potato waffles and spiced apples, Doug entertained us on the grand piano (he used to play with the hit sixties band Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs and has a voice like Willie Nelson). If hospitality is the ultimate luxury, Belle of Roundtop just may be the best place to bed down in all of Texas!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

My husband and I, and a dear colleague, spent a weekend at the Belle of Roundtop and attended a program of choral music at Festival Hill. "Beautiful" is the apt description for the Belle of Roundtop. We want to return soon and enjoy the charming home, the gracious hosts, the delicious food, and the peaceful ambiance. Generally, I am a real bargain hunter when it comes to lodging, and even though at first, I balked at the price, I found Belle to be a true bargain because the value of the experience far exceeds the price. We returned to San Antonio feeling that we had made new and great friends in Debbie and Doug Byars and their Belle of Roundtop. Janice Clayton

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

The Belle of Roundtop was an amazing find. The owners of the Belle are gracious, thoughtful and outgoing. We came there as guests and left family. The food was delightful and the beds were over the top in comfort. The view of the country side was amazing from the veranda and the hammock was a relaxing addition. The town of Round Top is very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

I've stayed at The Belle several times, and each time was a pure pleasure. The Round Top area, while maintaining a soothing country atmosphere, is also becoming something of an artist's colony, with lots to see and do of a cultural nature. Nearby Festival Hill (International Festival-Institute at Round Top) is famous for its concerts, recordings, films, forums in history, decorative arts, architecture, landscaping, and garden and herbal history. The Copper Shade Tree Gallery in Round Top is a new-and-growing showcase for strictly Texas artists, and the tiny town itself is charming. A twice-a-year antiques festival is probably the most well-known draw.

The Belle is a historical two-story house that has been converted into a very comfortable B&B by the owner. It's the kind of house you wish you had grown up in, with spacious rooms and modernized comforts. The "breakfast" part of the Bed & Breakfast is one of the delights of staying here. Beautifully served and truly delicious fresh food, prepared either by the owner or a professional chef brought in for the occasion ... and the owner is a truly delightful lady.

I can't recommend this place highly enough ... you will be doing yourself a favor if you book a few nights here ... you will come away relaxed and refreshed by the beautiful countryside and the friendly atmosphere.

  • Liked — Gracious atmosphere, the beautiful house and location.
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Our two day stay at the Belle of Round Top Bed and Breakfast was a very rewarding and enjoyable stay. The owners were very friendly and gratious hosts. They made us feel like we were part of the family. A wonderful bed and breakfast in a very quiet country setting. The breakfast was great. No bakery muffins. Home cooked by the hosts themselves and the opportunity to dine with them at the breakfast table. Would certainly go back if we had the opportunity.

  • Liked — Opportunity to meet new people in a relaxed setting and enjoy private time with spouse.
  • Disliked — No dislikes. Met expectations.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle of Round Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Round Top

Address: 230 Days End Ln, Round Top, TX 78954
Location: United States > Texas > Round Top
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Era 1880s B&B located in the heart of Texas between Austin, Houston and San Antonio on 15 acres in Round Top, Texas. Bi-Annual Antiques fair draws 200,000 shoppers to vendors from all over the country. International Festival Institute Symphony Hall and unique shopping, restaurants, Shakespeare at Winedale are drawing tourists for weekend getaways to our little town of 81 people. Come and see for yourself what true Country Charm is! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Of Round Top Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle of Round Top, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.