We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Philly cheesesteak ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoody's Subs

Hoody's Subs
1205 Round Rock Ave, Ste 121, Round Rock, TX 78681-4508
15122447166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 283 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television
1 review
“Best Philly cheesesteak ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We take the reviews on here seriously so when I heard that some are faked and beefed up by employees we worried, however it hasn't failed us yet. This place was a gem! We were passing through from Temple to Home and have to go through Austin (which makes my hubby angry cause we don't have much traffic like Austin does.) We found it easy, the owner was super friendly and nice, the food was amazing!! We have a Philly place close but it doesn't even rate in awesome taste like this does....if you are ever passing through you must find this place!! Yum, yum, yum!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic East Coast Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Delicious, real food from the East Coast. Made to order, fresh and friendly service from Brad, Alice and others.
Big line on Thursdays because the Philly Cheesesteak is the day's special; but it's worth it. Other sandwiches are just as good. You can't go wrong eating at Hoody's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Craving a cheesesteak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hoody's offers the best cheesesteaks I've yet to find in the greater Austin area. They're located in a little strip mall in Round Rock (with some other quality choices for a quick lunch), have a completely understated atmosphere with simple wooden tables & benches, but offer great cheesesteaks and other specials with quick service.

Lines can be a little long on Thursdays, which is the day when cheesesteaks are the daily special, but it's still worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Cheesesteak subs in the region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've wandered over to Hoody's in Round Rock for many years. Their cheesesteak with mushrooms and peppers is super - yummy and big. Friends of mine often order the cold subs but I've never found a reason to alter my order. They also carry Tastycakes which can be hard to find in Tx. Sometimes the lunch line can be a little long but it's worth it. The booths are uncomfortable, but besides that it is a great local spot for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Subs in Austin, Not Close, From a Philly Area Guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I moved here from Wilmington, DE 18 years ago. The Wilm/Philly area is the home of the "Philly Cheesesteak" and genuine Italian subs. I first stumbled into an "imposter" east coast sub shop before finding Hoody's and there is no comparison. Hoody's rolls are uniquely east coast, firm, lightly crispy outside, softer inside. The cold cuts are the best. The cherry peppers are so much better than jalapenos or banana peppers, especially combined with sweet peppers. The cheesesteaks are unparalleled. The staff is always friendly and solicitous. And Dick Hoody always takes care of the customers. They are almost like family after all these years: most still hear from way back when I found them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoody's Subs also viewed

 

Been to Hoody's Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoody's Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.