We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Subs in Austin, Not Close, From a Philly Area Guy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoody's Subs

Hoody's Subs
1205 Round Rock Ave, Ste 121, Round Rock, TX 78681-4508
512-244-7166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Sandwiches
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Subs in Austin, Not Close, From a Philly Area Guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I moved here from Wilmington, DE 18 years ago. The Wilm/Philly area is the home of the "Philly Cheesesteak" and genuine Italian subs. I first stumbled into an "imposter" east coast sub shop before finding Hoody's and there is no comparison. Hoody's rolls are uniquely east coast, firm, lightly crispy outside, softer inside. The cold cuts are the best. The cherry peppers are so much better than jalapenos or banana peppers, especially combined with sweet peppers. The cheesesteaks are unparalleled. The staff is always friendly and solicitous. And Dick Hoody always takes care of the customers. They are almost like family after all these years: most still hear from way back when I found them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great made to order subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic Philly cheesesteak, lots of flavor and quite a big sub. You have to wait a bit for it as they make it fresh to order but it is worth waiting for.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock,Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meatball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I found this place one day looking for the best meatball sub. I have found it. It is gotta be 13 inches and has 6 big fat meatballs inside. With plenty of tangy sauce. Melty cheese, onions,spiced just right. And the rolls crust is just hard enough to hold all that awesome goodness inside. Friendly staff. The best I have had in the fifty years I have been on this earth. Do yourself a solid and try one you will Not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best - for 20 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Undoubtedly, Hoody's has the best cheesesteaks. They are so good and so authentic that they don't call them "Philly" cheesesteaks, just as if you were eating one in Philadelphia.

In addition, they have high quality deli meats, sliced in the store, and an amazing meatball sandwich. Not to mention Zapp's chips and amazing cookies.

Finally, Hoody has been treating customers as kings and queens for a long time, and his staff continues in this tradition.

You must eat here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoodysSubs, Owner at Hoody's Subs, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, and for stopping by! We're glad you enjoyed everything, and we hope you'll come back again soon and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall looks, perfect Philly food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's no gourmet joint to look at. But the cheesesteaks are Philly to a t. And you can also get TastyKakes and RC cola! Best of all, shaved ice--best chompin' ice around, better than Sonic, even.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoodysSubs, Owner at Hoody's Subs, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thanks for the review! We're glad you stopped by, and that you enjoyed yourself! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoody's Subs also viewed

 

Been to Hoody's Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoody's Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.