We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hole in the wall!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Tex Mex

Rio Grande Tex Mex
1720 North Mays, Round Rock, TX 78664
(512) 671-7966
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 283 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food here is consistent and yummy! Just discovered the shrimp diablo and I am hooked! Great place to grab some appetizers and drinks with friends. I hear the margaritas are amazing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is always good and you get a lot for the money. I love the salsa and chips because it leaves a little 'burn' in your mouth! Staff is always friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish there was a bigger Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my father in laws favorite place to eat. My husband enjoys it very much too. I am not a huge fan of Mexican food so I cant judge most of their food., But what I have had has been really good. Wish there were more options though. I don't feel it was a big enough menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great fajitas and frozen mango margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is one our favorite tex mex places in Round Rock. The fajitas, enchiladas and frozen mango margaritas are some of the best in a town that has many fine tex mex restaurants. The margaritas will kick your butt and make you like it, the fajitas are flavorful and plentiful. I'll have to stop....this is making me hungry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good TexMex Joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In Downtown RR. Found this place when the lines/wait at Chuy's got on my nerves. Decided to try this and the wait - well there wasn't one. The service - was excellent. The food really good - try the Mole on just about anything. Chips - not greasy - salsa more than acceptable. Prices - really good too. I've been here many times - as a 'first choice'. Note - this is a rating for the RR location - Sketchy results at other Rio Grande locations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Tex Mex also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Tex Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Tex Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.