We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Tex Mex

Rio Grande Tex Mex
1720 North Mays, Round Rock, TX 78664
(512) 671-7966
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 297 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hutto, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is always good and you get a lot for the money. I love the salsa and chips because it leaves a little 'burn' in your mouth! Staff is always friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wish there was a bigger Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my father in laws favorite place to eat. My husband enjoys it very much too. I am not a huge fan of Mexican food so I cant judge most of their food., But what I have had has been really good. Wish there were more options though. I don't feel it was a big enough menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great fajitas and frozen mango margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is one our favorite tex mex places in Round Rock. The fajitas, enchiladas and frozen mango margaritas are some of the best in a town that has many fine tex mex restaurants. The margaritas will kick your butt and make you like it, the fajitas are flavorful and plentiful. I'll have to stop....this is making me hungry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good TexMex Joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In Downtown RR. Found this place when the lines/wait at Chuy's got on my nerves. Decided to try this and the wait - well there wasn't one. The service - was excellent. The food really good - try the Mole on just about anything. Chips - not greasy - salsa more than acceptable. Prices - really good too. I've been here many times - as a 'first choice'. Note - this is a rating for the RR location - Sketchy results at other Rio Grande locations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, TX
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Soggy, boring flautas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The chips, salsa, beans and rice were good.

The chicken flautas were soggy and the chicken was a chunky blend of plain, bland dark and white meat. I prefer shredded white meat. The tortillas were soggy; they should be crispy.

The guacamole was bland. No salt, onions or garlic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Tex Mex also viewed

 
Round Rock, TX
Round Rock, TX
 

Been to Rio Grande Tex Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Tex Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.