We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fajitas and frozen mango margaritas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Tex Mex

Rio Grande Tex Mex
1720 North Mays, Round Rock, TX 78664
(512) 671-7966
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 295 restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great fajitas and frozen mango margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is one our favorite tex mex places in Round Rock. The fajitas, enchiladas and frozen mango margaritas are some of the best in a town that has many fine tex mex restaurants. The margaritas will kick your butt and make you like it, the fajitas are flavorful and plentiful. I'll have to stop....this is making me hungry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    6
    9
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good TexMex Joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In Downtown RR. Found this place when the lines/wait at Chuy's got on my nerves. Decided to try this and the wait - well there wasn't one. The service - was excellent. The food really good - try the Mole on just about anything. Chips - not greasy - salsa more than acceptable. Prices - really good too. I've been here many times - as a 'first choice'. Note - this is a rating for the RR location - Sketchy results at other Rio Grande locations.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, TX
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Soggy, boring flautas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The chips, salsa, beans and rice were good.

The chicken flautas were soggy and the chicken was a chunky blend of plain, bland dark and white meat. I prefer shredded white meat. The tortillas were soggy; they should be crispy.

The guacamole was bland. No salt, onions or garlic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Casual Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a wonderful Tex-Mex restaurant that is never crowded. Great place for lunch on a work day because it is never too crowded and I have never had to wait. They have some good lunch specials.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great prices! Great margaritas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

My family eats at Rio Grande every Friday when possible. It's our favorite hang out spot! The food is great and the Margaritas are the best!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Tex Mex also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Tex Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Tex Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.