We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class meal with service to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Margarita

La Margarita
1530 IH-35 North, Round Rock, TX 78681
(512) 388-1103
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 290 restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Duncanville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First class meal with service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

On the evening before Thanksgiving there was quite a long wait time of approx. 30 minutes so being tired after a long drive in heavy traffic we opted to eat in the bar. A wise decision! The service was exceptional, helpful and fast. The top shelf margaritas were worthy of the name. The menu extensive and our entrée choices and desert were all excellent. A first class meal for a fair price. A great Tex-Mex place at which to eat if you are in north Austin.
Alex M
Duncanville TX

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    28
    22
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benbrook, Texas
2 reviews
“Good Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had the fajitas which were very good as were the chips and salsa. The restaurant was packed, so service took a little longer than expected, If you stay at the Country Inn across the parking lot, this is an excellent place to have dinner without having to drive away from the hotel.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived late in Round Rock and found this pet friendly restaurant. Not only was the food excellent and the service wonderful but a good variety and very reasonable on their prices. A great place to dine at.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
“Raw Chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My Fiancé and have been frequent diners at La Margarita for a while now; about two years. We normally go for the Chicken Cordon Queso and some margaritas. So far, the service and food have been good enough to keep us coming back. Unfortunately, After the events that unfolded tonight, we have decided we will no longer be dining at La Margarita, and will go to other establishments for our future dine-out occasions.

The chicken cordon queso we received tonight was raw. It was mushy, pink, and did not tear apart like cooked chicken. My fiancé first noticed when he was practically finished with his first portion of chicken (as the lighting in there at night is not very good). He informed the waitress, and she subsequently returned the chicken to the kitchen to be cooked thoroughly. At this point, I am examining my own portion of chicken (I was about half way through), and realize that it too is uncooked. The waitress brings back the chicken, and it is obviously overdone and disgusting; she also brings us the bill. At this point, my fiancé hands her his card and asks to speak to a manager.

It takes about ten minutes for the manager to arrive (amidst the restaurant not being busy at all), and when he does arrive he seems extremely rushed. He apologizes for the raw food, and states they have a new cook in the kitchen. He also says that the waitress has already charged us for the meal, but that he did give us a ten dollar restaurant credit. Ten dollars is hardly enough to cover either of our meals before taxes.

His apology was anything but sincere, and he was extremely nonchalant about the whole ordeal. As well, having a new cook in the kitchen is no excuse for raw food served. When we come to this establishment we usually spend anywhere from $40-$60, and when you are spending that much money, you do not deserve raw food no matter what the employment circumstance is in the kitchen. Both of us, having worked in the food industry and retail for years, know what authority the manager has, and what is the typical protocol in these situations. The dishes should have been refunded because they were raw and resulted in serious illness from ingestion. As soon as we returned home, my fiancé started feeling nauseated, and began vomiting shortly thereafter. We felt very unsatisfied and feel that the staff at La Margarita has no care for their customers, or what happens in the kitchen.

They really do not care about their customers or their satisfaction, and we would not recommend it to anyone solely based on that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I ended up away from Austin for lunch, and this place had pretty good food without the Austin crowds on a holiday weekend. The fish tacos and flan were very, very good -- I also enjoyed the black beans and rice. Service was good too, even for just one person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Margarita also viewed

 

Been to La Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.