We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised on second visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Margarita

La Margarita
1530 IH-35 North, Round Rock, TX 78681
(512) 388-1103
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 277 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised on second visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was not overly impressed on our last visit to this restaurant, fair food, lackluster service, overly noisy. Daughter loved the stuffed avocado, so here we are again on another visit!
What a difference! Granted, this was early afternoon, not busy dinnertime, but the food was excellently prepared and served in a timely manner, the waitress was excellent in her mood and timeliness, and the noise level was very acceptable as we were able to carry on casual conversation within our group with little distraction. I now highly recommend this for a casual Tex-Mex meal on a budget.
In retrospect, the first visit was on a weekend evening and possibly the chaos of the birthday party atmosphere may have been overly objectionable to me at the time. Getting ready to accept two new step-grandchildren may change my view on even this issue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    36
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food ever! Fajitas are awesome and so is complimentary hot sauce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant many, many times and always so impressed with the food and staff. The hot sauce is made with fresh tomatoes and is awesome, not too hot much just right - chips and tortillas are made fresh at the restaurant. All of the meals I have eaten their is wonderful delicious but our very favorite is the fajitas! Awesome, delicious and an order for 2 is enough for 3! The beef and chicken mixed is our favorite - plenty of meat and grilled onions. You cannot go wrong eating at this restaurant; price is very reasonable and they have specials especially on Monday nights when it is 2 for 1 on the fajitas. Our very favorite place of all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

and plenty of it! My wife loves their margaritas too. The dessert menu is terrific. The chips are thin and crispy with a red salsa that is the best for miles around!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hand made Tex Mex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You won't be dissappointed if your looking for good Tex Mex food in Round Rock. The hand made tortillas are flavorful and thin. My wife and I enjoy the migas for breakfast, and the children love the quesadillas. A good family mexican restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Got seated quickly, served chips and salsa but server took awhile to greet us. Food was hot, good and margaritas were awesome!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Margarita also viewed

 

Been to La Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.