We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Allen's Kitchen

Jack Allen's Kitchen
2500 Hoppe Trail, Round Rock, TX
512-215-0372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time. Food was good, service was excellent but prices are a little over the top. Liked the fact that there were unusual food choices (to me) and good. Just a little too pricey for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A very different menu ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've stayed a stone's throw away near. Saltgrass Steakhouse and Chuy's many times but never noticed Jack Allen's Kitchen near Rudy's. Curiosity got the better of me when yet another colleague recommended the place so we drove behind Rudy's and finally set eyes on it for the first time.

Even on a week day evening it gets crowded. We waited our 20 minutes and w were glad we did. The bacon-wrapped quail was delicious and set expectations high for the rest that was to come. We were not disappointed. The famed chorizo pork medallions and another pork dish with pecans & laid upon a bed of vegetables were very good. JAK's support of local farmers is a well-known policy, with 80% of ingredients being locally-sourced. The way it's served by JAK is certainly a great advertisement for all that local produce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“We liked Jack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First time eating at a JA's, we were pleasantly surprised. Complimentary valet parking was a nice start. It was Saturday night at 7 and the place was packed. We got a drink at the bar and waited 25 minutes for our table, not bad, considering. Food is locally sourced, which is a plus. We shared a queso and pork appetizer which was small, but good. She had one of the specials, street tacos, which were very good. I had the chicken fried beef rib.. I had to try it...It had been smoked, so it was cooked before the frying. It was tender, smoky tasting and overall, pretty good. It came with some good mashed potatoes and grilled vegetables. I probably wouldn't have it again, but there are plenty of other options I would like to try. Service was excellent. The restaurant was very clean, even the bathrooms. It's also pretty loud.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW! in every bite ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this space to do it justice. There is simply wow! In every bite. Locally sourced and fresh ingredients, and food that looks and tastes like it was tailor made just for me by a premier 5 star chef. Amazing food, atmosphere, and wonderful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This place is wonderful. Great foods prepared from local goods. Menu selection fantastic. Best fish tacos ever! Perfect for a date or family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Allen's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.