We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Allen's Kitchen

Jack Allen's Kitchen
2500 Hoppe Trail, Round Rock, TX 78681
+1 512-215-0372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 283 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hands down my favorite restaurant in the area. Food is always fresh and delicious. Killer Cheese Burger is usually my go-to. One of the best burgers around. Also really enjoy their brisket sandwich when it's on special. My only complaint is that I wish this location had some brews by Live Oak on tap, like the other Austin location does.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    103
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
302 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Visiting family in Cedar Park and went for dinner. Happy hour included appetizers along with drinks. I highly recommend the pomegranate sage Rita it was very good and they don't skimp on the alcohol! The choice in appetizers is amazing! the entrees are diverse and everything we had was delicious. I had the green chili pork tacos, lots of food and very tasty. My young grand kids were with us and it was a great environment for them. The wait staff was knowledgable and very attentive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't wait for my second trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Jack Allen's was so delicious! I went with 6 family members and everyone loved what they ordered. The food is unique, inventive, and the flavor combos are one of a kind I can't wait for my second trip. I hear their brunch is not to be missed. I believe it's $15.99pp and possibly just on Sundays. The service was very courteous and professional. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good drinks and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Visited this place for the first time a couple weeks ago and it was a great experience. I had one of their mojitos and it was DELICIOUS! Not too sweet! I had the short ribs and grits for dinner and it was really good but really heavy as well! Definitely recommend this place !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for business dinner...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The group I was with have all traveled to Austin many times, and in fact stayed right next door to Jack Allen's Kitchen without ever trying it. I twisted their arms about trying it based on the reviews I found online, and our customer vouched for the place, saying, "Jack Allen's Kitchen is awesome!"

The restaurant was packed (a good sign), so we had a couple of drinks in the bar before dinner. My only complaint is that we did wait probably 40-45 minutes for a table, when we were told 20-30, but it was worth it.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is really laid back and fun, but also very clean - you can tell these guys know what they're doing. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

We had the guacamole and wedge salads for starters, and they were great. They serve Moscow Mules correctly, in copper mugs. They also have a lot of great drinks featuring Tito's vodka. I drank Shiner Bock, which was ice cold.

I ordered the fish tacos, which were really excellent. A lot of people at the table raved about the chorizo stuffed pork.

We also ended up ordering desserts, and I wish I could remember exactly what everyone got because between us we ordered most of them. They're all house-made every day, so the selection changes constantly. I will say this - they were some of the best desserts I've had in a restaurant.

If you're looking for a classy-but-in-a-nice-way place to have a really solid dinner with great food made from fresh ingredients, Jack Allen's Kitchen comes highly recommended by me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Allen's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.