We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Allen's Kitchen

Jack Allen's Kitchen
2500 Hoppe Trail, Round Rock, TX 78681
+1 512-215-0372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 282 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
297 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stopped here by chance for a late lunch, and were lucky to hit in the "happy hour" time 3pm to 5pm. The appetizer were 50% off, so we decided to share appetizers and no main course. A party of 4 hungry adults, We shared 4 starters and a salad and that was more than enough. At altogether roughly $40! Whatta deal!

The server efficient and professional, behaving like in a high end restaurant from NY! Not Round Rock. Thumbs up!

The menu is kind of sophisticated and not like other typical american around. I loved the selection of dishes, deviating from the usual cobb salad and steak approach so common elsewhere. Of the appetizers The Spinach/Gorgonzola ravioli the best. Nachitos quite good, the layered chunky queso ok.

I hope this small chain open soon a place close to us! Very recommendable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    102
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gem In Round Rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great place to have some interesting comfort food in the land of chain restuarants. The location is just off I35 surronded by mid-range hotels. I had eaten at their location in the city and was a big fan but was little skeptical of the area and whether it would translate. It did.

Great apetizers that make it hard to get to any entree's. The pimento spread is great - thought I would ever crave pimento. Salads are big and flavorful with lots of local flavor and variety. Love the catfish and you have to try the chicken fried steak. Salmon is also great. Sides are also stars here also. Order several and share. Finally - save room for desert. Had the cobbler and usually not a fan of cooked fruit - but awesome.

Highly recommend. Does get crowded for lunch and dinner but has a good size bar area for waiting and having a couple of pops.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I made a reservation earlier in the week and boy was I glad I did, a lot of the times were already booked but I was able to get a 730. Friday's are always bad everywhere in Austin and Round Rock that you would have a sit down meal. We started with salads, side and wedge, loved the presentation of the wedge. We had the grilled new york strip and the special for the night shrimp and grits and both were great. For dessert we had the chocolate bomb, chocolate cake topped with chocolate mousse covered with chocolate ganache, omg, it was to die for. I enjoyed the ambiance and will definitely go back, there are too many more dishes we want to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a wonderful experience - drinks, food and service-wise at Jack Allen's last night with friends. We were the newbies and realizing we didn't have to go thru the entire and tempting Margarita menu, we settled in with our Mango Habernero and Blood Orange Margaritas and enjoyed an assortment of wonderful appetizers. While not having any main courses, we are sure from seeing what was coming out the kitchen that we'll be back. Preston, our server, was extremely helpful in helping out with selections and kept our drinks topped up. Great, great time, we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Attractive presentation, OK menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The ruby trout was tasty and a large lunch portion for $12.99. However, it could have used some zip in the seasoning. The salad plate resembled a dinner of rice, lettuce and fish rather than an actual salad. The fresh produce attempt is a good one. I hope they pep it up and make it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Allen's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.