We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great-tastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Allen's Kitchen

Jack Allen's Kitchen
2500 Hoppe Trail, Round Rock, TX
512-215-0372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great-tastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Locally sourced, fresh food, great taste, fast and friendly service, what more could you ask for. This is our new favorite Round Rock restaurant.

We had the Chile relleno and sloppy jack. Wonderful flavors. You could taste the freshness of the chile and I couldn't put the sloppy jack down. Partly because I'm a fatboy but what am I supposed to do? I can still see my wang and shoes so I'm good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch- Wonderful atmosphere- very friendly staff-attentive
Had the Red trout with salad andamazing rice with cilantro and vegetables- They started with a small sample of their homemade pimento cheese, and we had to order the full order- They use fresh ingredients and use local farmer market foods- Have seasonal dishes based on that is available that time of year in the markets- Outstanding service you would expect at a 5star restaurant- Our glasses were never empty, and it wasnt just our waiter who was filling them- If any of the wait staff noticed that we were nearing empty someone was there to fill up. Tim was our waiter and very friendly and informative- Will definately be making a trip back to try out something different

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was traveling for business and this restaurant was close to the hotel. I had no idea what to expect but it seemed to be a better alternative than fast food. We arrived around 6 PM and had a 15 minute wait for a table which gave us the opportunity to review the menu. The waitstaff were pleasant, knowledgeable, and attentive. I tried the chicken stuffed with portobello mushrooms and artichokes and it was delicious. I also ordered a Round Rock Beekeeper---bourbon with figs and honey--very good. We ordered strawberry cobbler for dessert and it was fantastic. Everything was well-prepared, fresh, made from scratch and overall a welcome change of pace from the many cookie-cutter chains that dot the landscape. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Drinks!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We dined at JAK on a friend's recommendation, and LOVED IT! Arriving at 8:00 pm, we were told it would be a 40 minute wait. We were fortunate enough to find two seats at the bar, and were enjoying the camaraderie with other bar patrons we decided to dine at the bar rather than wait for a seat in the dining room.

As we perused the list of creative and unusual drinks on the menu, our bartender, Bernie, made some recommendations for his favorites. The cucumber-jalapeno margarita was delicious! I wouldn't have thought something so subtle and something (that can be) so 'in-your-face' would work together, but they did...beautifully. For those that like a bit more spice, try the mango-habanero margarita...it has a nice kick at the finish. And for something completely different, try the Round Rock Bee Keeper. Lots of flavors combine for a beverage that's bursting with several complex flavors. LOVED IT!

The spinach-gorgonzola ravioli appetizer is rich, creamy, and flavorful, served with toasted ciabatta bread to sop up all the extra sauce (which is far more refined than picking up the plate and licking it, which is what you will want to do!)

The fish tacos include a healthy dose of redfish, which you can top with "XXX HOT" Thai Chili sauce and/or habanero sauce, along with some of the crunchy slaw.

According to the bar manager, Nick, this location will soon be receiving their own barrel of Eagle Rare bourbon, so they are experimenting with several new cocktail recipes for the menu. (Ask for the one with the imported Italian maraschino cherries...it's TASTY!)

After closing the bar down, we left with happy stomachs and a great experience. That night I had visions of JAK dancing in my head...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best place on Round Rock by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I work in Round Rock, so I'm always looking for restaurants to try. I went to Jack Allen's for happy hour and they had me at their quail legs. The food here is amazing and the service is awesome. The ingredients are fresh and local, and the managers always make sure your experience is top notch. Happy hour is the best here and a great chance to try a bunch of different foods. I highly recommend this place.. for business, lunch, dinner, happy hour, group dinners, etc. I'll see you there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Allen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jack Allen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Allen's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.