We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Round Rock - CLOSED

French Quarter Round Rock
13000 North IH 35 Ste 600, Round Rock, TX 78681
5128329090
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Leander, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My sister and I had lunch here. The garlic herb butter served with warm sourdough rolls was soo good, then I had the blackened chicken poboy with chicken gumbo and fries. It was the best gumbo ever and the bread on the poboy was so yummy. My sister got the basil cream pasta with blackened chicken and loved it. the portions were so large that we had no room for the orange crème brulee everyone raves about. Cant wait to come back! Wonderful waiter and gorgeous restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food in historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This restaurant is in a great old building that used to be a stagecoach inn. There is much of the original brick on the interior & it is upscale & nicely decorated to make you feel like you are in New Orleans. They also play good Cajun music while you dine. I had a tall drink called a Swamp Juice which was very tasty. Had the shrimp gumbo, which was very reasonably priced, delicious & not too spicey & surprisingly had 9 large shrimp in a cup! My husband had the house salad which he said was very fresh & contained tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, onions, almonds & shaved parmesan. Most things on the menu, including seafood entrees, were reasonably priced with the exception of steaks, which were pricey. I had a shrimp & crawfish pasta, which was a huge serving but could have used a little more shrimp & crawfish & less cheese filled tortellini in 3 colors. The mushroom brandy cream sauce was excellent. My husband had the Jumbo Shrimp entrée with mashed potatoes & squash & all items were very good. The service was somewhat slow both from the kitchen & from the waiters since they have to make the drinks at the bar but otherwise the service was very good. Overall, it was great for a romantic occasion with excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cajun food in Suburban Austin, Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The appetizers, salads and main dishes have fine Louisiana ingredients and are prepared deliciously, presented attractively with generous portions. Prices are reasonable as well. Atmosphere is quietly elegant. Soft lighting and tablecloths. Beautiful large lumps of blue crab used in dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Our favorite place to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I love this place. The food is consistently wonderful every time we go, which is about once a week. They make a great Cosmo, and the staff is always very accommodating. But most importantly, they have the best Gumbo. I was not a gumbo fan until I tried their Crab meat gumbo. Superb!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“French Quarter in Round Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went to the French Quarter for a quiet Saturday evening dinner. We didn't have reservations but the wait staff and hostess were accommodating and was happy to squeeze us in. The wait staff was polite and made suggestions for dinner. We enjoyed the dinner. Next time I will get reservations since we probably won't be able to eat without them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Quarter Round Rock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.