We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tender meats, excellent sides and sauces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny T's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny T's BBQ
1318 Round Rock Avenue, Round Rock, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Do a google search, check out yelp. I just ate there and want to write a review. Thanks!
Restaurant details
Description: Do a google search, check out yelp. I just ate there and want to write a review. Thanks!
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tender meats, excellent sides and sauces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We found this restaurant via Yelp. Wonderful BBQ meats and a variety of side dish options. Stop here if you like BBQ and a mom and pop atmosphere. We'll eat here again on our next visit to Texas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's hard to beat this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

True Texas cue shack atmosphere. Excellent service from a young staff. Obviously a great pit master/chef. Brisket melts in your mouth with great smoky flavor. Chicken is plump and meaty. Great homemade sauce (although the brisket doesn't need it) creative sides. This place is a winner amongst a lot of competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A regular that loves it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It always amazes me what fabulous concoctions Johnny will come up with next. Nothing pretentious just good ole food at a very reasonable price. Not only the staff is friendly but patrons actually talk to each other.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock,Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I always get the two meat plate. Brisket moist and chicken white. Comes with two sides. I have tried them all and my favorite is sweet potato fries and green beans. Great favor spiced just right a choice of sauces. I like the spicy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My favorite BBQ in Round Rock, and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Johnny was a chef at Main Street Grill. This had me worried.. High end restaurant and Texas BBQ? No worries. John totally gets BBQ. he saves his chefly experiments for sides (and on occasion desserts)-- which are excellent. His creamed corn beats Rudy's hands down. The green beans are unlike any others I've had (they are my fave). The fried okra is yummy, and the tamale potato casserole is something you really need to try.
I've always been a beef guy. While the beef here is delicious, I usually get the pulled pork. Nobody else makes pork so good it consistently wins out over beef with my taste buds. To top it off, the crew are a fun bunch who really want you to be happy with your "dining experience" (a phrase that just seems out of place with BBQ, but hey...)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny T's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Johnny T's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny T's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.