We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never new, what a plesant sursprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1560 North I-35, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 25%
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
pflugerville
1 review
“Never new, what a plesant sursprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family stayed here and was pleasantly pleased with everything! We normally stay at the Comfort Suites when traveling and so comparing staff, cleanliness, quality, free breakfast and affordability this one wins hands down. We will always be looking for this hotel when traveling. I agree the hotel was a little dated but the overall experience (listed above) makes up for any imperfections. Especially the very friendly staff!!! I liked the spacious room, we slept in the King with the sleeper sofa and I also liked the ease of access to the internet. My husband loved the quietness of the hotel. Maybe it was because we were on the third floor but we didn't experience any noise, and the bed because he was able to rest. My 5 year old loved the fresh cookies baked every night, which they called the room on the first evening to let her know they were ready, she felt like the cookies were baked special for her. We also loved the free breakfast with lots of choices and we didn't have to jump up before daylight to take advantage of it! Breakfast stays around til 9a. I will certainly be recommending this hotel to family and friends!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
21
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been at other locations of the Country Inn and Suites which were very nice, so this one was disappointing. I agree with satxsptsfan in that the beds were not good. I went with a group and the consensus was that the mattresses need replacement. Also the breakfast was ok, not good, and in particular, the eggs looked plastic.

There are other hotels right at the same exit of I35N and next time, we'll give one of them a try.

Room Tip: rooms on the back side of hotel would be quieter; front facing rooms get a lot of road noise from hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during my son's basketball tournament. The hotel was chosen by the coaches due to it's price, location and free breakfast. The front counter service was friendly and efficient. The overall value was good.

We had a "suite" which included a king bed and sofa bed. The room was clean. Both beds were uncomfortable. The suite was poorly designed. The bathroom door open out which blocked the path between the small sitting area and the bedroom.

They had a nice entrance with a couch, rocking armchair and fireplace with a book case with books you could borrow. It was a nice, unexpected touch. The breakfast was below average/average. The food was not refilled frequently. coffee cups so small you had to take two or constantly refill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel and our room were very clean but just a tad dated looking. My husband and I had no complaints about the bed, but the pillows are small. The hotel breakfast is a pretty standard free hotel breakfast--make your own waffles, cereal, fruit, muffins, eggs, sausage, and biscuits and gravy. Not bad for free. The front desk staff was nice. Wifi was free (password protected, so get the code when you check in if they don't write it on the key holder).

It is easy to hear through walls and doors (especially if there are groups of teenage softball players running through the halls late into the night), but overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for one night in February. We were dissapointed with the room. It was clean, but outdated. The bed was very uncomfortable; my husband was convinced he could feel the springs of the mattress through the bedding. The tv was old and small. The worse part was the noise! The walls seemed to be paper thin, as we heard loud noises (and people) all night and into the wee hours of the morning. I can't really comment on the breakfast, as we didn't eat there. If I'm ever needing a place to stay in Round Rock, I will be checking out other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Room was dated. Not to be snotty, but I was rather shocked by the non-flat panel TV. The bed really needs to be replaced. It was easily one of the 3rd most uncomfortable beds I've ever 'slept' in. Unless that is included in part of a renovation, don't stay here.

Breakfast area was amazingly small. There are not enough seats. One thing to be aware of at this time of the year is the crickets. For some reason, the Austin area was inundated with them this year. That's not the hotels fault and they even had a sign up warning about them, but we found some in our room, too. That does not seem acceptable. FYI, for those who want to know, my Club Carlson status was not recognized at this hotel. This was pretty funny considering the mouse pad at the desk was all about the status benefits.

Room Tip: Rooms by the stairs can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISRNDR, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review for your stay on June 23, 2012. We are sorry that we missed recognizing you as a gold point member upon your check-in as we do make every effort to recognize all our gold point members. As mentioned in the review, we are all aware of cricket season here in Texas. Again we would like to thank you for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The kids had their 1st swim meet in Round Rock and so we decided to stay a night in the area.
Its a very clean hotel. Although the room we had on the 3rd floor (odd number room) is on the street side and therefore you can hear the cars at night.
B'fast is fine. It's substantial.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock

Address: 1560 North I-35, Round Rock, TX 78681
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a comfortable stay in the North Austin, TX area, choose the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Round Rock, TX. When you make this property your relaxation destination, you put yourself near the area's top attractions, including Inner Space Caverns, Dell Diamond, Old Settlers Park, Rock'n River Family Aquatic Center and Round Rock Premium Outlets. During your hotel stay, take advantage of numerous ways to relax and recharge, including free high-speed Internet access for staying connected, a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet for stress-free mornings, an outdoor pool for unwinding and a fitness center for de-stressing. It's easy to make yourself at home when you land at the Country Inn & Suites Round Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Country Inn And Suites Round Rock
Round Rock Country Inn
Country Inn Round Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.