We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unimpressed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Marriott North to your Saves list
Austin Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Round Rock
Temple, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“unimpressed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We've stayed here about 3 times. We keep giving it a shot, but I'm not sure why. We are always disappointed. I won't be coming back again.
Our main disappointment was that our room had a lot of traffic noise. The manager did nothing. I think he was scared to. But, we were woken up in the middle of the night to a bunch of noisy guests. There were about 20 young adults outside our room carrying on around 2:30 or 3:00 in the morning. We asked them to keep the noise down. They ignored us. We called the manager and they said they'd send someone down. They never came, so we called the manager again this time demanding that they do something about the ruckus or we were going to leave and they needed to comp us for the room. A security guard showed up and knocked on the door and told them there had been a complaint about the noise. The guests wanted to know who complained. The security guard was worthless so my husband walked out and said we were and to give us a break because it was 3 in the morning! We had to be up early the next day. There are just so many management issues with this hotel. In previous stays, they've given our room away. The pool never has enough towels. The buffet was lacking. I give up!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCovington, General Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
We take our guest satisfaction very serious at the Award Winning Austin Marriott North. I am proud that we have regularly earned rankings in the top 10% of all full service Marriott's in North America for our exemplary service.

Certainly we feel bad when other guests create noise. Unlike other hotels in Round Rock, we do invest in employing a full time overnight security guard to maximize guest safety and address those that are disturbing others around them. We have a simple 1,2,3 approach where on the third contact, guests are asked to leave the hotel. Most often the situation is resolved after one friendly phone call and a quick visit to the area to ensure compliance. In some cases, it takes a second contact of a visit to the door to get the guests attention and cause change.

We are proud of our track record of outstanding guest satisfaction at the Award Winning Austin Marriott North and look forward to having you experience that level of service on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
17
11
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Recently went to Austin for quick campus tour with graduating high school senior. We are somewhat familiar with the Austin area so wanted to stay a little north of the city to avoid most of the crazy traffic during SXSW. Normally we love to stay downtown, but this time we stayed north.

Got on Priceline (like usual - I'm cheap) and picked the highest rated hotel in the area (3.5 stars). Got the Marriott for $75. Really good for Austin on a weekend much less with SXSW (huge music festival) in town.

The hotel is located right off of I-35 (main N-S highway through Austin). You are about 10-miles north of Austin and with traffic it can take 30-minutes to get downtown or to UT campus. The area around the hotel is new with lots of big box retail, chain restaurants and such. My wife highly recommends the Round Rock Outlet Mall just a couple more exits north. Very good stores and she says the best bargains around. The hotel is tucked behind a big shopping center but easy to see and get too.

Check-in was easy. They walk you to the elevators which is nice. The room is patented Marriott - very good, spacious and clean. We had 2 double beds with my wife and 18-year old son. Plenty of room. The beds are great, pillow-top. Very comfortable. Big shower and bathroom. The hotel is fairly new so all was in tip-top shape.

Our only disappointment was the pool. It is indoor. We went on a great spring weekend and were looking to get some sun and swim (in the low 80's). Not the hotel's fault. The indoor pool is very big for being indoor and the area around it is very nice. But we were hoping to relax and enjoy the great weather. A month earlier and I would have been praising the fact that the pool was indoor out of the weather!

Parking is free and ample. Safe area. Easy access to highway.

Overall very good hotel. It is generic and consistent and sometimes that is exactly what you want.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I was there for two nights on a business trip with two colleagues. We arrived about 21.00, check in was fast, the desk staff were very friendly and efficient.

The rooms was large, spotlessly clean and very quiet. The wireless internet access is fast. There are in-romm tea and coffee making facilities but no fridge, which isn't a problem as there are vending machines for soft drinks and ice on each floor (I think) and an ice bucket in the room.

The room as a 32” LCD TV which you can connect your laptop, mp3 or dvd player too, which is a good idea as 70 channels and still nothing to watch.

Ordered a “rivercity grille burger” with a couple of beers from room service, the food arrived promptly in 25 minutes. Again, staff very friendly and knew my name (which is a bit disconcerting but a nice touch). The food was very tasty and well needed. It was nice to have the ‘greens’ on a side plate so I didn’t have to spend precious eating time stripping the lettuce and tomato off the burger :D

The room’s air con was adjustable down to about 18c (or 65f), nice. The king size bed was extremely comfortable but jet lag meant I didn’t sleep that much.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to use the swimming pool but must give it a go next time.

The restaurant and bar had a good selection of food and drinks. Free tea or coffee is available in spacious the reception area, which also has a business centre and small but well stocked shop.

There are also good selection of restaurants about 5 minutes walk away.

I’ll definitely stay at the Austin Marriott North again when returning to Round Rock.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

My kids loved the attention when they checked into the hotel. From our team name being displayed on the monitor to the welcome gift we received from the staff. We loved the balloons in the lobby and the free cookies for the kids. You can't beat the price....Simply amazing...we loved the food and the heated pool. My kids will not stay anywhere else.....Thanks to the Marriott my choice is easy when going to Round Rock for our tournaments.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

The hotel was clean and pleasant.

  • Liked — Near the Dell HQ.
  • Disliked — The facility was really plain for a Marriott.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Amazing service. It was prompt, courteous, and very friendly. The room was spotless. great bedding. plasma TV and very nice furnishings. everything, the AC, shower, etc worked fine in the room. very appealing and clean lobby/common areas. But again, the service quality was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We went to Round Rock for a couple of baseball games on 13 & 14 June. We didn't know it was also Republic of Texas Bike Rally Week. There must have been 200 motorcycles in the parking lot. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was perfect. We had a blast going to the games and then coming back and mingling with the bikers. Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott North

Address: 2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Round Rock
#10 Business Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the best in guest satisfaction, the award-winning Austin Marriott North hotel defines superior service and amenities. The only full-service hotel in Round Rock, TX, offering a convenient location in La Frontera E-Commerce Park near Dell Headquarters, Hewlett Packard, Samsung and IBM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Austin Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott North Hotel Round Rock
Marriott Round Rock
Marriott Hotel Round Rock
Round Rock Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.