We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but expensive add ons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott North

Save Saved
You added Austin Marriott North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austin Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but expensive add ons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I spent five nights in this hotel. I enjoyed the room very much and the staff were excellent. I arrived very late and one of the staff organized a sandwich for me as the kitchen was closed.

However charging for WiFi in room is unreasonable. There is free WiFi in the lobby but I could not stay there for long as the fountain is quite loud and I could not concentrate on my work.

I also found the breakfast too expensive and chose to eat in the office canteen instead.

The room was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom with a large walk in shower with lots of hot water at all times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review for the Austin Marriott North. We can only imagine how it feels like to be away from home for 5 nights, we are delighted to hear our staff went above and beyond to make sure that you are well taken care of. We are sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy our complementary Wi-Fi in the lobby due to the volume from our beautiful fountain. Our lounge is a great option for a quieter place to work with several electrical outlets while still enjoying our complementary lobby Wi-Fi. We’re excited to hear you enjoyed our brand new renovated bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
33
11
11
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is truly an excetptional Hotel with an amazing staff. They are in the process of a big renovation and as a result if you are in your room anytime between 9 pm and 5:30 pm you will have to endure a considerable amount of Jack-hammering and other construction noises. Working in the Lobby made a lot more sense during these times.

Having said that, the staff here, starting with Nina at the Front Desk, were outstanding. The Conceirge Floor staff were also exceptional.

If I am ever in Austin again, will definitely stay here - hopefully they will be done with all the construction by then.

I was put in a room with the new bathrooms and it was certainly a good update. Keep it up Marriott.

Room Tip: During construction, stay on a lower floor since a lot of the work (June 2013) seems to be on Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review and for sharing your experience at our hotel with other Trip Advisor reviewers and readers. I am delighted to hear that our staff, starting with Nina, provided you with an outstanding experience it our customer centric values that set us apart from our competition .Staying on the lower floors during this time is a great tip! We are excited and looking forward to all brand new and beautiful guest rooms mid to late august. The results of the upgrading project are amazing; new walk in showers, spa vanity’s and much more. We look forward to having you back at the Austin Marriott North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is nice and staff is friendly but really, $10 per day for wireless Internet! They have renovated the bathrooms but mine is nothing special and it is one of the renovated ones. What I do love about Marriott are the beds, very comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Austin Marriott North. Our staff consistently works on being “simply the best” and it's so great to hear that our efforts are showing and you found our staff friendly! We, as well as the other Marriott hotels do offer free wireless in our new “Great Room” lobby as well as in our business center. You can order food and drinks from our “5-10-20” menu while connecting to complimentary 45 mg wireless internet. We look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLERMONT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Thus was a great hotel. If they wouldn't have tried to skim $10 a day for wireless access it would have been perfect. As it is, it comes across cheap and greedy to me.
Also with two people you really need exhaust fans in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review for the Austin Marriott North. We do have free wireless in our new “Great Room” lobby. You can actually order food and drinks from our “5,10,20” menu while connecting free of charge to our 45 mg wireless internet. Regarding the bathroom exhaust, we do have it in every single bathroom. It is built in exhaust that runs constantly and extremely quiet. Thank you for kind comments and we look forward to having you back as a guest here at the Austin Marriott North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you need to be in the Round Rock area, this is about the fanciest thing you'll get, but you're paying for it. The Starbucks doesn't take membership cards and the barista messed something up 6 of 6, for me. Roomservice charges gratuity onto the bill; but the roomservice people still expect cash. King suite was very nice; ideal for business travel with lots of outlets/desk space etc... The filet mignon was one of the best I've had, and I eat a steak nearly every day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us at the Austin Marriott North. I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed our filet mignon at our RC Grille. We have great verity of steaks and they are all delicious!!!
While upgrading our lobby 6 months ago we added a new Starbucks kiosk, although we offer all types of Starbucks drinks we are not a full Starbuck store that honor gift cards or membership cards. It is a great new addition to our hotel and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Austin Marriott North for 2 nights. We had reserved a room and indicated in the reservation that we had 4 persons traveling with us. Upon arrival around 9pm, we were given a king room and told there were no fold-outs. They told us they would give us pillows to make a palette on the floor.

While we knew that most of the hotels in the area were sold out due to multiple events in the area, it is completely unacceptable and poor planning on a hotel to place 4 persons in a king room. If the hotel cannot properly plan for such issues, then they need to update their reservation system to distinguish between king and 2 double beds as to make this even less likely to occur in the future.

Further, we ordered breakfast room service our first night to be delivered in the 6-6:15am range. At 6:40 we still had not received our food so we called down to room service in which we we informed that the delivery person was stuck in traffic and our food would be to us in 20 minutes. This is absolutely unacceptable - a full hour after the requested time when we used the pre-order breakfast form and hung it on our door at midnight the previous night. It is exceptionally poor customer service given that we were not even notified of the delay.

Lastly, the Starbucks on site was almost always closed. I never saw it open the several times I walked by it over the weekend.

In summary, we had a poor experience here. The only reason I didn't give it terrible was that the bar and restaurant staff were pleasant and the food was above average.

Room Tip: Be careful of getting a king room for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Austin Marriott North. I am sorry that our hotel was not able to provide you with the quality of comfort you and your guest deserve. We understand how inconvenient it may be to have 1 king room for 4 guests. We try very hard to make sure all our guests have a comfortable experience, unfortunately with you we failed to do so. As far as your experience with our in-room dining, we truly value feedback from our guests as a direct path to move closer to our goal of excellence in all facets of our role as great hosts. Further, we will attempt to try to understand what went wrong within our process that allowed this issue to go unresolved. Thank you for taking the time to share this important information and for the complement regarding our wonderful restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I’ve been staying at the Marriott North for over 10 years. And while the hotel is a solid “good” it has slipped and is slipping down the scale. I attribute most of the slippage to lack of maintenance and no general refurbishment in years. Honestly, I hadn’t really noticed until I mentioned to a colleague that I was staying there and he said that he stopped going there because of the general lack of upkeep. I then started to notice that, yes, the hotel is in need some care. For example, the elevator buttons are severely scratched and there are numerous carpet stains throughout the hotel. Finally, there is a musty smell that waffs through the air. It’s doubtful I’ll stay there again when you can stay at much newer and nicer hotels at the Domain for the same price or even cheaper.

Still, service is excellent. Everyone is friendly and eager to help. Service is one area where the hotel still shines. This hotel is the only one that I am aware of in Round Rock that has room service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Austin Marriott North. I am sorry to hear that you feel that we are slipping, in efforts of making our hotel current and up to date we are currently going through some renovations. We are upgrading all our guest bathrooms with new walk in showers, comfort height toilets and spa vanities. When that project is done we will be replacing all our hallway carpets for a new and inviting look. We are so excited about our upgrades and would love for you to return as our guest to a brand new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott North

Address: 2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Round Rock
#10 Business Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott North 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the best in guest satisfaction, the award-winning Austin Marriott North hotel defines superior service and amenities. The only full-service hotel in Round Rock, TX, offering a convenient location in La Frontera E-Commerce Park near Dell Headquarters, Hewlett Packard, Samsung and IBM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Austin Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott North Hotel Round Rock
Marriott Round Rock
Marriott Hotel Round Rock
Round Rock Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.